So this whole election thing, can we be done with it already?

in #politics3 years ago

The past 4 years have been a bit overwhelming for a lot of people. Between Trump really going after the media and the media really going after him and social media and mass media putting people at ends with one another it really came as no surprise that this election was a shitshow and likely will continue to be one for at least another month.

I don't really read into it too much, I don't look at facebook anymore and most of the posts on here that are about, honestly are too long for me to put much time into reading all of it, let alone making any sense of it. I've reached the point where I no longer care who wins the USA Presidential election because I honestly believe that one thing is going to happen whether Biden or Trump is in office the next 4 years.

Almost nothing



src

This isn't necessarily because they don't want to or because they have no power, it is just the fact that our Congress sees to it that nothing that either one of these guys wants to do is going to have any sort of lasting capabilities. Sure you can put executive orders out there but then the next guy that gets in he or she just writes some orders that cancel out those orders. The "next guy" is almost always someone from the opposing party because people realize once every 4 to 8 years that both parties suck and the very way that it is set up is so that nothing ever gets done.

I don't follow government a great deal but for the most I just kind of want them out of my life and out of my way. This is one of the great advantages that I have from having chosen to move overseas over 15 years ago. Most of what any of these power-hungry goons and their hit squads do has very little effect on my life. No matter who is "in charge" in the United States every single country in the world wants to engage in commerce with one of the wealthiest populations on the planet and therefore I am always going to be able to live, at least for a time, in just about any country in the world.

This is something that I think a lot of Americans take for granted. That blue passport of yours is one of the most valuable in the world.


src

Take Vietnam (where I currently reside) for example. The United States is the only country in the world whose citizens are eligible for a 1-year tourism visa. The government is very aware of the fact that very few of the people who apply for this visa are actually going to be tooling around at resorts in the country for a full year, yet it is offered to us, and only us. Other countries are entitled to one or three month visas maximum.

This isn't going to change with Biden in power... You could put Carol fucking Baskin in the White House and this would remain true. There are a few exceptions around the world that have less than favorable terms with the USA as far as diplomacy is concerned but these countries are few and far between and most of them are places you probably don't want to visit / live in anyway.

I like Trump only because he makes me laugh and he bucks the system and I hate the system. Before I left the United States I worked for two federal agencies in a mid-level position. In one of them I had a security clearance and the amount of waste, overlapping of duties, and overall incompetence was unreal. Therefore, when he started gutting various agencies I was like "hell yeah!"

I also enjoyed the way that he went toe-to-toe with the media and called them out on their bullshit. If you are one of those people out there that still doesn't realize that all the media is completely full of shit then you are really hopeless. This isn't just in relation to Trump but can be applied to literally anything.

I wasn't happy with expansion of military spending which has always seemed a bit silly to me since we already spend more than the next something like 15 countries budgets combined and all of them but one of them are currently allies.


src

The rest of it I didn't pay much attention to if I am going to be totally honest. I understand that some people probably think that one should be involved in politics but I'm just not one of those people I'm afraid. I've spent my entire life watching this politician or that come and go and nothing ever really changes in any sort of meaningful capacity.

If and when Joe Biden takes office I think it will be very amusing the great lengths that the media will go to in order to hide the fact that the man doesn't know how to talk anymore and his memory is shot. Those gaffes are gonna keep coming though because someone, somewhere, is going to ask him a non-scripted question at some point and he'll forget his name or where he is and it'll be a multi-year highlight reel of comedy.

I don't dislike Joe Biden, I just think he is inept and if there wasn't so much hatred for Trump, there is zero chance this man would be elected.

With Congress being divided and from my understanding the Senate being Republican controlled, you can be all but guaranteed that no partisan bills of any sort are going to make it through. The only thing that will ever land on the President's desk to be signed into law will be some meaningless shit that doesn't really matter anyway.


As far as the claims of election fraud all I can say is that if it turns out to be true would anyone out there actually be surprised by this? Of course there is election fraud. There is a reason why in a really great video game called Tropico that you have the option of rigging the election in your favor.

I suppose it would be a shame if elections come down to who is best at cheating rather than which candidate the population really wants in office though.


If you are one of the people that is doing "research" day in and day out and arguing with mostly strangers online over said research then I have to say that I don't hate you either, I pity you. You could spend this time doing literally anything else and it could be considered more productive. I play video games - which is obviously a waste of time but not nearly as wasteful as the political arguing online alternative.

82834813_2813764852003443_8989075587968532480_n.jpg
src

I do not care which of these guys gets in office but i wish we could just get on with it already. I do know this though, the situation in the United States with the country being very close to 50/50 divided between 2 political parties is not a unique situation - it is becoming the norm... so when people start talking about civil war because their side lost I think you have mental problems man.

I will accept whoever the Supreme Court or whoever ends up deciding who the winner is in this election, because I never really cared to begin with.

Sort:  

Hi @gooddream, agree with you the world become crazy and social media contributed to that too. Everyone thinks he is the one who knows better, people do not respect opinion of others and the one who shouts loud has right.

I am annoyed by all the lies of Trump that is why I am against him to win the election. I do not think that world is safe if Trump is at power for another 4 years and maybe many who voted for Joe thought the same.

The same like you I hope another months and the whole circus is over and we have peace again or maybe not.

PS: have sent this message from using our curation account @art-venture, therefore had to re-type under @stef1 account :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09