You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Capital Punishment

in #politics8 years ago

Interesting take. I'll say I'm glad I'm not the one who has to make these decisions, but I think you aren't considering every angle. In this particular case, the evidence may seem cut and dry, but that's not so in every case.

I'd like to say that we have a Justice system here in this country, but most of the time we have a punishment system. People are very often convicted and later found to be not guilty. The felony conviction rate in this country is somewhere in the 99%, depending on whose statistics you look at.

I highly doubt the police are right 99% of the time. It's actually a form of slavery. Mostly poor people are charged with crimes and threatened with outrageous sentences but offered "leniency" if they plead guilty. They spend a few years in a work farm, called prison, where the share holders make a profit from the low wage labor. Those shareholders are often politicians, lawyers, and even judges.

While I'll admit that's not applicable in the case of death sentences, it begs the question as to whether or not the "justice" system in this country is capable of performing its duties.

As to the Bible, I'm convinced that members of the Kingdom of Heaven aren't supposed to be involved in dominating others, which is intrinsic to the nature of government. It's a civil matter. As Christians we should be prepared to forgive, like Jesus did. Self sacrifice doesn't condemn.

The Bible also very clearly demands civil governments to enforce justice, and threatens severe repercussions if they fail to do so.

So, while in theory I do not want my stolen tax federal reserve notes to pay for some murderer to be housed and fed for decades, I'm also not enthusiastic about them being used to kill someone who is innocent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89