The Art Of Persuasion

in #politics3 years ago

As I grow older, I become more and more convinced that it is counter-productive to shout at or belittle people, if you want to change their minds. I think, for example, of “radical” vegans who tend to be very shouty and preachy in their approach.

I am on a journey towards eating only plant-based food, but almost every time I encounter a sanctimonious vegan, it makes me want to eat a steak. You too? Well, maybe not, but I am sure you get my drift.

I feel, in my heart of hearts, that if you want to be instrumental in the collective transformation – whether you are a vegan, environmentalist, anti-vaccination or whatever your creed – there must be a more effective way than shouting at people!

Whenever anyone shouts at me, all I think is “fuck off!”

So, what would be a better, softer technique of persuasion? Perhaps, simply, to live by example, but what else? I’d like to hear your thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99