You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Government Is Not Corrupt

in #politics8 years ago

My apologies. I meant only respect. Do you know a gender-neutral term with the same sense as "sir"? Apparently, the military uses "ma'am" for addressing female officers, but I find that not right for civilian use, since it pretty much implies that the lady so addressed is married, and I usually don't know, nor do I consider it my business, unless told.

Sort:  

No need for apologies, I was not at all offended. :) I don't even mind being assumed a "Sir" at times. I don't care that much if someone calls me "ma'am" or "miss". I am married, but you needn't worry about how to address me. :)

More and more, even female officers are being referred to as 'sir'. At least in Star Trek. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71