Police Officer here: My thoughts on Pokemon Go

in #pokemon8 years ago

Not sure if there have been any other officers posting here. But I wanted to share a story about the game.
For starters, there are plenty of officers here on reddit that are playing the game. We love it. Heck, the Sheriffs Office in my county held an impromptu "Pokemon GO" day a few days ago. It was great.
But tonight I saw something that really struck me. I work in a fairly small town. Not a whole lot of people around at nights, and there really is not a whole lot to do. Especially for kids and young adults. Tonight while I was working, I checked a nearby park, and opened up the game. I saw that someone placed a Lure module on a stop nearby.
I drove to the stop. It is our town's veterans memorial. We have a wonderful, beautiful memorial in our downtown area to honor those that serve in our nation's military. Since it's a small town, the only time it ever gets visitors is on holidays, or during town festivals. Last night there were about 15 teenagers at this memorial. Obviously because of the Lure Module.
But what amazed me, what made me so happy that this game exists, is how the teens acted. They weren't rowdy or obnoxious. They respected the memorial. Not only that, but they actually took time and walked around it. They looked at the names engraved, admired the sculptures, all while waiting for pokemon to show up.
These teens never would have come out and visited the Veterans memorial had it not been for this game. So thank you.
TeamHarmony

Couple quick edits:
A couple people have asked why I added in that I was a Police Officer when it didn't have much to add. At first I was going to also mention how calls of suspicious activity have been on the increase, and how it seems like undesirables hanging around parks seems to have decreased. In addition community relations with the younger crowd have really improved. Its way easier to talk with them and they feel far more comfortable with me around knowing that I have similar interests.
Secondly, I also understand I may have worded my post wrong when saying I was surprised they weren't being obnoxious or rowdy. Usually, when a group of teens is hanging around a park or monument at 10, 11, 12 at night, it isn't for a good reason. They are usually (read not all the time however most of the time) either vandalizing the area, smoking dope, drinking, or banging in a car. Why else would someone go to a park that late at night? As such, I was happy to see that they were doing something positive, and enjoying a nice Friday night.
Thank you everyone for your replies, and I am sorry if I did not get to your reply. I went to sleep immediately after the post, and I had 500+ messages when I woke up. Thank you all, continue to enjoy this awesome game, and stay safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17