You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Verse: The Art of Writing

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Much to admire in your Ars Poetica, rich in metaphysical ideas, novel images and longing.

If I were you, I would edit it further (losing needless words like “the” and “so” to make it tighter) while also reworking a couple of line breaks.

Still, it’s good enough to reward rereading, as we marvel alongside you at the mystery of language.

I write, as if stretching my limbs,
numb after a long sleep.

Bravo 👌🏼


If I might be permitted an example, this is how I might edit your first couplet:

The word is born out of Silence,
to start writing is to master the pause.

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback and resteeming @yahialababidi, as a non-native speaker I always have hard time with articles, especially with when to omit them :)

My pleasure, @vitkolesnik :) It's a good work of art, and I did not realize English was not your native language (though that explains your akward phrasing, in parts).

As an editor and poet, I'm always looking for what to cut out... Poetry is what remains when there is nothing left to lose :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16