My 2nd Creative Collaboration on Steemit! / Original Poem, Illustrated by @tninh

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

_12_31 Yahia.png
Illustration by @tninh


My first creative collaboration involved submitting a short poem of mine to @Carlgnash for his consideration. To my happy surprise, Carl then put it to music & sang it, in addition to composing a stirring prose poem/prayer of his own alongside it.

I'm delighted with the outcome and hope you will check it out, here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/1mwk8ljv


For my second collaboration, I shared a longer poem of mine with an artist I met on Steemit, @tninh, who created original art work, inspired by a stanza in my poem. I do hope that you might appreciate his art as much as I do - as well as explore more work by this intriguing artist, here: https://steemit.com/@tninh


Which Will It Be?

Am I to be conjured by some image
happened upon in a drawer or folder

recalled by a dedication in an unread book
a cherished article of clothing, or trinket

O, great lover that you are,
composed of so many loves

what is it will summon me to you
which mannerism, phrasing, or view

what part of your mind-body-spirit
inviolably mine, as indelible as a tattoo

as he makes distinct claims upon your pulse
overtaking, effacing the footprints of memory

will the fragile filigree that persists of me
suffice to constitute what was an entirety?

© Yahia Lababidi

_12_31 Yahia.png
(Art by @tninh)


PS-If you enjoyed my poem, perhaps, you might also like this post featuring quotations of mine that are popular online:
https://steemit.com/writing/@yahialababidi/original-sayings-for-lovers-of-inspirational-quotes-wit-and-wisdom

Sort:  

Awesome to see steemians coming together to combine their talents to create something unique :)

I think it should be more of a thing for writers and artists to collaborate on posts to create visuals that are also easier to share externally and make a post go trending both on steemit and when shared on other media. The frictionless transactions being made available by the steem blockchain makes it so simple and so easy to collaborate and exchange payments that I think this is one of the great advantages this community can provide users over time :)

Looking forward to seeing more!

So glad you liked this, @fredrikaa. There is a certain sympathy that is a prerequisite for collaboration and, I believe, it was present from the start with this young artist. His lines, somehow, resonated and compliment my own...

The possibilities of Steemit are just beginning to dawn on me, now, as I discover all the gifted, creative folks that are a part of our community. Thank you, my friend, for caring and sharing good advice with me along the way. It would be terrific if, as you say, posts like this might trend here on Steemit and Beyond! Fingers crossed

Meantime, in talks with artist as we speak re: a forthcoming collaboration :)

Beautiful poem. It was wonderful working together with you :)

I admire your style as an artist, @tninh, and I think your piece elevates my poem. Thank you, for your willingness to play, seriously, with me :)

Very nice poem. You have a nice way of making the lines flow and I could imagine this poem being set to music.

Glad you liked it and grateful for the compliment, especially as I agree with Walter Pater that: "All art constantly aspires towards the condition of music." (Would love for this poem to be set to music, too!)

Wow I love this collaboration! While I am often turned off by rhyming in poetry the rhymes here in the middle and latter stanzas felt easy and unforced and more the product of the perfect words being plucked than a scheme that dictated a rhyme here and a rhyme there. It is a somewhat wistful poem and plays on that fear we all must have, what happens when we are not there. What happens when we are gone. What will summon our memory back, and is a memory some form of life eternal? Clearly you are not dead, but this is where my mind goes.

I love the art. Just plain love it. What a perfect accompaniment to the poem, it captures the mood perfectly I think. What a beautiful line curving from foot to armpit. I had not encountered @tninh yet, heading over to his blog now!

I am so happy to see you engaging with the community here more and starting to create more and more content original to Steem and more collaborations with others here on Steem (myself included). 2018 is going to be a good year for us all here on Steem brother :)

Much love - Carl



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Carl! Would you believe I, too, am wary of rhyming, unless it’s in-built and mysteriously dictated by the poem (as in this case).

I often say that the poet cannot deliver the last word on their poetry, nor is his/her interpretation the most interesting - and you confirm this with your creative, Existential reading of this piece.

Yes, excited about the possibilities of Steemit - and, in no small part, because of your encouragement & guidance, brother.

Glad you appreciate the artwork & wishing you more
happy discoveries.

Here’s to a creative, collaborative 2018, full Steem ahead ✌🏼 image

Resteemed on my main account and very happy to see @tninh's post getting the recognition it deserves as well :)

Amazed & deeply gratified to see it! He deserves good things & I believe has a bright future ahead!

Thank you, dream-maker, Carl :)

I love the poem! The artwork is absolutely breathtaking!!
Thanks for sharing!

This is the power of poetry, my friend, to take a sad story (heartache, breakup, etc...) and make it sing.

There’s a tenderness to the art that breaks the heart open ... Glad it spoke to you 🙏🏼

Nice poem man! And the art is also good! Great collaboration bro!

Very glad you liked it, @andywong31! The artist is a sensitive fellow, and captured the wistful tone of poem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yahia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yahialababidi to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62178.11
ETH 2509.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66