Poem / What I want

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

What I want


image Credits

I want to hold you in my arms.
I want to keep you safe from all harm.
I want to be the person you look to.
When you’re not sure what to do.

I want to be the person to guide you.
I want to be the one standing beside you.
I want to be the one you call.
I want to be the one to catch you when you fall.
I want to be the one that will stand behind you through it all.

I don’t mind waiting a while.
If it means that every day I get to see you smile.
I want you to get these “children” out of your system.
I want you to hurt, I want you to bleed,
I want to be the one you’ll need.

I don’t want to lose you to some random jerk.
Just because he’s better looking under his shirt.
I want you to experiment with what you like.
So that you can decide if I’m your type.

I’m not going to be the one to make you wait.
I’ll still take you out on dates.
You might not be perfect, but you’re perfect for me.
I might not suit your criteria, but next to you is where I wanna be.

By Ethan
2018/01/16

P.S. I know the image has a spelling error in it, but it was the most relatable...

Note: If there are any spelling errors or things you disagree with, I would appreciate it if you let me know :)

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here (^~^) <(^~^<)

Sort:  

still astounded by what is created when your pen meets the paper

Simple poetry always triumph. I love the fact that it's easy to read and understand.

However, could you explain this: "I want you to hurt, I want you to bleed"

Are you referring to childbirth? (That's in relation to the previous line)

Plus, mind checking me out? I write simple poems too

By children I meant the immature or asshole men that she would go out with. I want her to experience everything and realize that I would give her the world.

This is one of the litest piece i read today

Nice piece of poetry it is good to be more handsome a friend to someone always being there for that person

Yeah I did enjoy it. You are a gift. Thanks.

Love it! I can feel the love in every lines. Keep inspiring. :)

This is beautiful Senpai! You have a powerful way with words that you were able to express a lot of emotions in a single piece. The poem defines a real gentleman. True love waits, after all. Loved it! ❤❤❤

Very good.
Upvoted & resteemed.

You should use the poem lyrics for a rap or r&b song. The words are simple and powerful. Keep up the good work!

thanks your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81