TOMORROW COMES

in #poetry5 years ago

It is cold today,
Frogs are croaking
on the sidewalk, selling wares;
Warts, insect wings and such.
Birds are squabbling on electric lines,
Weaving nests, berating innocent chicks.
Crickets are chirping too,
so you can call it a duet or a concert
but I am here, on my bed,
watching the wall, waiting
On the sun to shine.

I throw the cowries between my toes
and spy tomorrow in the bones
Of seafood dried in the sun
And picked clean by gritty beach sand.
I sit by the window, sip my tea,
drag my smoke and wait for tomorrow
to come as promised by gods that sleep.

I hope it brings the sun, this prophecy,
And more of me in the song of today.
I hope it sings beautifully like
A full fledged opera giving a final performance.
I draw my curtains, forget the frogs
And dismiss the birds and crickets.
In the darkness, I become silence
and then I fall and dream deep dreams.
Tomorrow's sun will be beautiful
and I'll find my applause.


photo15185036202628341dfd1307c 1.jpeg
Unsplash: Nathan Dumalo


©warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very Beautiful ☺️

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.159 which ranks you at #3327 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 18 places in the last three days (old rank 3309).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 128 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15