MASKS: A POEM

in #poetry5 years ago

I have always considered myself different like I am standing outside the theatre of life, watching people live. I feel like I have broken some rules and cannot get back in. Like a prodigal, I stand aside and hope that I will be welcomed home when I choose to go back.


mask-1083605_1280.jpg
pixabay: Josealbafotos


MASKS


A prodigal,
I linger in the darkness,
Let the moon kiss my feet
And the crickets drink my spit.
I let the blunt burn my lips
And smoke, sweet with bliss,
Curl between my ribs.
I fall from the stars to my knees
And bow my head to the puddle
That dances with stars above my head.
I am a king

That cross swords with my shadow
And sneezes on the pearly leaves
Kissed with dew and suckled
Of warmth by the night's glazed gaze.
The stars bear my crown
And the moon, my sceptre.
I drag the red glow
And feel my body float to space,
Soar between the trees.
I am a witch

A name in a child's book;
Wand, hat, cloak and broom,
A symbol of something Gothic
Like a church burning red candles
To pentagrams and dark altar cloth,
Blood dripping into cup from lips,
Flesh leaving breasts for teeth.
I am a sinner

With death scented skin,
Peeling layers upon layers
Of cracked masks, crumbling
Faces of people that I have been.
Spoilt earth leaking worms
And body parts for post morterms,
Morgues and the mortician's knife.
I am a saint

And heaven calls me
To sit, celestial, and pass judgment
On the red ants that bit my hips
And the mosquitoes that drank my blood.
I will watch the cosmos turn on its axis
And dare the aliens to show their faces.
I will dance a jig in a toga eschewing
The raffia skirts of my fathers
Or I will sit beneath a heavenly tree
And espouse the benefits of a blunt
Well smoked to the roach and even then.
I am a prodigal.


©warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.957 which ranks you at #3989 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3985).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #182.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14