LOVE LEAVES ME BEREFT: A POEM

in #poetry6 years ago

desert-279862_1280.jpg
photo by _Marion on pixabay


I have fallen in love
With the beating of your heart.
I have quested the world
With words to bring your heart
To sync with mine
And I have failed.

I have become a prodigal
Skimming the face of the earth
Seeking freedom in the breast
Of the sea, the salty surf
Of your trembling lips calling me
To come home but I can't.

Love called my name
And bid me come sip
A cup of nectar of your lips
But what will I do after that?
Where will I keep the broken
Bits that the tornado
Would leave after we are done?

I have failed you
And I can't become a light
In the darkness of your soul.
I am becoming a singing tree
Swinging leafless in the silence.
The silence where hearts bleed,
That broken hollow place.


Warped Spits
Sort:  

Love! Deeper than we could imagine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62178.11
ETH 2509.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66