#30 SIN CHRONICLES-FINAL VERSE | A COLLECTION OF FIVE POEMS

in #poetry6 years ago

man-343674_1280.jpg
pixabay: Amurca


INTRODUCTION


I have not been able to sleep well. I have not been feeling too good, health wise. I think I am reacting to the hours spent cooped up at the back seat of a bus, watching a traffic jam that extended far into the night. I feel terrible but I need to survive, eh?

I have Owl City Fireflies playing as I write. I think I have raved enough about the song. All the poems below were written between 2:15am and 3:00am and the song played all through. Weird, right?

Finally got an app from play store that let's me read really great manga. Mangarock it is. I still need a place to download small files of anime in the likes of Naruto in all its iteration, Shippuden and all the others including the stand alones. It would be nice to be able to get D'Grayman, Bleach and Avatar: Last Air bender too. Love these animes.

Back to the poetry. Each poem is a different expression of what I have come to term as warped poetry. My poetry tends to be dark, I know. @aschatria describes it better. She says my writings are gloomy. I think that's the word. No light here. 😂

Well nuff said, let's get to the poetry then. There are five poems below and I will try to explain each one. Note that I do not write any poem with an intent except if giving a theme to work with. The intent cones mostly after I am done writing. I am not a poet, I just put words together and try to make sense.

NOTE: The last poem in this post might be considered to be an erotic poem by some. If per chance you are not comfortable with any content that can be considered erotic, please ignore the last verse, My Head. Thank you.


This is the last verse I will drop on the Sin Chronicles series. For those of you who enjoyed it from the first verse, thanks for sticking around. Maybe I should compile them into a collection, eh?


MUSIC


With this poem, I wanted to play with the words drip and drop. I love the rhythm in them and the image they evoke.


It also has in it the beginnings of something dark but I didn't develop the theme much as I didn't want it to get too dark or two long. Maybe the gloom is there a bit, you tell me.


Drip, drop, drop.
Water falls steady drip,
Rhythmic flow of sound
Echoing somewhere,
Some dark place
Filled with eyes,
Angry, hungry eyes.

Drip, drop, drop.
Tap leaking liquid song.
It is the base of the beat;
Heart throbbing, inhale, exhale,
The sigh of the hunting wind,
Silence... Then drop, drop, drip.

A moan swelling vibration,
Pushing, pushing, the song.
Heart moans, sighs drip; music?
A scream, running feet, door shut,
The faint insistence of drip, drop,
Drip, drop, drop.


NEW THINGS


This poem tries to paint a picture of a fertile earth. Everything is fresh and full with potential for something new, something awesome.


The poem infuses the possibility of this vision being deceptive as weed (marijuana) might be causing the feeling of rebirth and renewal being felt by the poet persona . As such the feeling the poem tries to give cannot be trusted.


Sweet smelling grass
Freshly cut,
The ovulating song
Of first rains combing
The groaning clouds,
The songs of distant birds
Mating the air with melodies,
The sweet smoke of weed
Curling from wet lips,
The beginning of new things.


BE A MAN


Every man has, at one time or the other, been told to be a man, to sit straight, to raise his chin, to always win. Society has a predefined role for a man and when we do not fit into those roles, we become failures in the eyes of even those who claim to love us.


The poem below basically emphasizes some of the traits and expectations that society has placed on being a man. In this process, it shows that it is not always so easy and nothing is black and white. We are blurred shapes at the end, androgynous at best, nonconforming at worst.


Let me stop here.
What is done is done.
What is the date?
Will tomorrow start a new day?
Or is tomorrow today?

Look me in the eye,
Raise your chin,
Be a man.
Strut your penis,
Swing it, left, right,
Give a powerful roar,
Never show fear,
Be a man.

I want this job
But I am too old.
My wife is pregnant again
And we are too young.
My blood pressure is up
I shouldn't be this sick,
Life's too short.

Face your foes,
Finish your fights,
Be a man.
Concrete your spine,
Never ever cry,
Escape the rat race,
Be a man.

I am drunk again,
My tie askew.
I am lost again,
My mind abused.
I am cursed yet again,
My soul accused.
Be a man.


MY JOURNEY, AN ESCAPE


This basically chronicles my journey from birth till date. Though I have not mentioned some other places that i have lived, I have mentioned the important ones.


In each movement, I seek freedom, an escape from where I am from and who I am. I find that at the end, I am not sure if I am finally free. It sucks.


From Effurun the journey,
It began.
Come, walk with me.
To DSC, the escape was planned.
At Aghalokpe, a path was picked.
Come and see what has become
Of all that we could have been.
In Abraka, pain was relived
And yes, broken gods do cry.
At Zamfara, an escape prepared,
Yet in Benin was Limbo
And then Warri with scented prayers.
To Abuja, the journey wandered.
Escape beckoned and broken gods
Birthed broken beings.
To Warri again and again;
Escape denied.
In Benin again; sunshine.
Freedom?


MY HEAD


This poem was simply an opportunity to make mention of several deities in the Yoruba/Benin Parthenon, at least that was the inspiration behind it.

Ogun, Olodumare, Olokun, Orunmila are gods in the Parthenon, worshipped among the Yoruba and Benin people of Nigeria.


Somehow, the poem ends up speaking about a man who is the romantic interest of a woman whom he fears. The dialogue between the man and the woman as well as the man's interior monologue propels the poem. The poem might be considered to be erotic. I do not know whether to make it NSFW or not. I think I will let it be.


Come to me she says.
Ogun save me!
Wash your feet and step,
Yes step in and sit,
Beside me, sit, she says.
Oh My fathers see me!
Her skin shines with coconut oil,
Supple soft and dark as sin.
I have trekked from Sakponba
To Oluku; my feet is dusty
With stories of farther places.
I whisper.
Keep your stories, she says.
Scratch my back.
Ha! Olodumare!
I am but a worm beneath
Your silent regard.
Her skin is supple soft
Like melting fat on goat skin,
Her skin scents of sweat, warm mats,
Sacrifices and blood, new blood.
Olokun! Give me strength.
Touch me here, she whisperes.
I am finished, my fathers!
My head, I am dead!
Where are the gods of my line?
She has me between her thighs.
They are strong and with each wriggle,
I sink lower and lower still
Into the volcano erupting beneath.
Oh sweet pain, oh sweeter still,
This forbidden thing, this sin.
A curse comes of this, I groan.
She chuckles and wipes me clean.
I will have your child.
You are mine now, she says.
Ha Orunmila, you did not see this?
My head, I am dead.


IN CLOSING...


I have just spent over two hours on this post. 😂 who says writing is easy? My right little finger hurts. It is what I prop my phone with when I type. Yes I wrote everything on my phone, straight into the editor.

I hope you have enjoyed my verses. I would love to read your comments and criticisms and I will definitely give a reply. Good morning.

Also I will not forget the following for supporting the Sin Chronicles series through the 30 eopisldes. My thanks to @curie, @ocd, @minnowsupport, @stach, @bigwaves, @wafrica. You are why I am still here writing verses. Bless up.


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Hey new friend,
May I know you, can we chat somewhere better?

Hey you can chat me up on discord. The name is still warpedpoetic.

Okay friend.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.901 which ranks you at #3994 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 4011).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 284 contributions, your post is ranked at #211.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This account curates for the @steemrepair and pulls two trails. You've been upvoted for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12