30 days Writing challenge. Day 4: write a haiku

in #poetry4 years ago

Dearly beloved,
I have been absent here for some days, so I have not been able to follow up on my 30 days challenge. I have been travelling and the environment has not been convenient for writing. I am home now and roaring to get on this challenge thingy.

The structured poetic form has been something I have deliberately avoided, from the first day, back at the university when I tried my hands at writing a Shakespearean sonnet. I have never been a fan of rules especially in writing. I feel that certain rules limits the range of a writer's creativity and the opportunity for experimentation. This challenge has thus put me in a spot.


IMG20200602WA0001.jpg


The haiku is a three lined poem, traditionally made up of 5-7-5 syllables for each line, giving a total of 17 lines. It is usually about nature. It has evolved somewhat, so while I will attempt to use the 5-7-5 lines, I doubt if it will fall into a nature poem category. I hope you enjoy it. Love and light.


A Haiku for the silent


Feverish arms raised
In power for bones speaking—
Our tongues are dust motes.


©Osahon, 2020.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99