Walking past the window again

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

woman-1091269_640 (1).jpg

There’s a sign in a window that flashes at me every time I walk past it, I’ve been doing that a lot lately, walking past the window where my soul is waiting, and kind of winking at me to return home.

But every avenue I walk reminds me I have more to see yet.

It must end soon of course, this walking in the rain; this, another place I’m passing through.

I know now there’s no release down here, where the ultimatum is an abandoned sigh for release; yet I wait awhile for it to come to me, and lift me up above all the rat runs I’m caught in.

I caved in a long time ago, and lost my soul to some junk man, who put it in his window for all to see, and lit it up in neon.

I walk past it every day and feel it pulling me.

And every day I say I will go another way tomorrow.

But I never do.

So many days, sang the song, and so many moments is all we have to walk past the window of our life.

I began wondering where the thrill was for me to reach heaven, as I walked past the window again.

Some reflection caught my attention, so I looked behind me, but there was nothing there, only the dust of my passing, turning in the wind.

As my beliefs deserted me for some other sucker to suck the life out of, I got on with walking past the window every day; and no sir, I’ve never deserted my post for anything.

By the time the next bottle of wine came I was quite drunk and could think of nothing more to hold myself together anymore and so jumped in the swimming pool, and screamed: where has all the water gone?

We are watching you, said the silent system of authority that was everywhere, and all pervasive.

That’s not good enough I said, and stared out of the window where I began looking to see all the passersby and hoping one of them would stop and say hello.

A lady with a handbag said she could read my mind and wanted to capture me to her bosom forever, but she passed away as a very rich man walked through my dreams and captured my soul and said, not to worry, windows are the gateway to the place where we can find each other forever.

The very next Saturday I began to resolve all my resolutions and booked up a flight to far away, where I could never be found again.

But by Monday I was walking past the window again…

Image from Pixabay

Further reading: https://www.amazon.com/Soul-Roots-Journey-Dean-Moriarty/dp/1718034865/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

()
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Fascinating storyline @wales!

Thanks; it probably comes from eating too many pickles

So mellow and forlorn.

Sometimes life can get that way beyond all your trying otherwise

Sense a little bit of Sci-fi there... haha

I call it magical realism

Nice ~~~~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86