Prose Poem: Holiday

in #poetry6 years ago

blue mountains

Blue smoldering clouds touch mountains in the silver sky,
blue bellflowers sway to the beat of the wind,
red-tiled roofs drip after the rain.

My living presence here and now,
a memory of life connecting dots of history,
a song of joy from nowhere.

Let there be a holiday with no reason and no calendar
because I am, you are, we are
connecting all these fleeting days
by living, being present, and remembering.

A holiday of second birth,
coming from the depths of soul,
connected, like a well, to all the world’s seas.

Blue bellflowers sway to the beat of the wind,
blue mountains smolder with clouds,
tiled roofs glow pink in the sunshine.

Look, Life is here, restless, calling, smiling, —
at me, at you, at everyone.
A never-ending miracle of second birth,
a holiday that is always with us.

The day of presence, here and everywhere,
in every breath of blossoming summer,
always rich, always diverse, always generous
to everyone who has been fortunate
to come here for even the slightest moment.

Credits


The Isle of Write is a paradise community of writers and other creatives, a relaxed place to both give and receive help, advice, feedback, and inspiration, learn new things or just kick back and chill with other writers and creative types. The Isle of Write is on mission of supporting creatives particularly in the writing and art fields. Check out the community Discord server with channels ranging from writing workshops to crypto to thematic link sharing.


I'm a frontend developer, writer, world citizen, and a father to eight. Most often I post about web development, crypto, and writing. If you've enjoyed this post, please consider an upvote, reblog, and follow.
Sort:  

The nature imagery in the poem is so amazing I felt it deeply connecting to me so well, it's totally amazing

Thank you for the appreciation!

I'm a bit late to the party, but I wanted to say that I like how you mix nature and life in your poems. They have a gentle, relax feeling to them. I have lived in cities and in the country, but I have been living in cities a lot the last few years, so reminders of the slower, fresher life outside is nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89