Free Verse: The Art of Writing

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

lamp picture

The word is born out of the silence,
so the beginning of writing is to master the pause.

I write, as if stretching my limbs,
numb after a long sleep.

The awakening of the word is like the action of light,
which effortlessly manifests the hidden.

I write, as if climbing a steep rock wall
where the foot of man has never dug in.

The land of the word is an anti-labyrinth: the paths are scattered,
yet each of them leads to the goal.

I write, as if speaking a forgotten language
that only the mouth remembers.

Controlling the word doesn’t bring the abundance
that comes from a miracle.

I write, as if recalling an old melody dissolved in the bustle,
remaining only as a longing for eternity.

Credits


The Isle of Write is a paradise community of writers and other creatives, a relaxed place to both give and receive help, advice, feedback, and inspiration, learn new things or just kick back and chill with other writers and creative types. Check out the community Discord server with channels ranging from writing workshops to crypto to thematic link sharing.

Sort:  

Much to admire in your Ars Poetica, rich in metaphysical ideas, novel images and longing.

If I were you, I would edit it further (losing needless words like “the” and “so” to make it tighter) while also reworking a couple of line breaks.

Still, it’s good enough to reward rereading, as we marvel alongside you at the mystery of language.

I write, as if stretching my limbs,
numb after a long sleep.

Bravo 👌🏼


If I might be permitted an example, this is how I might edit your first couplet:

The word is born out of Silence,
to start writing is to master the pause.

Thanks for the feedback and resteeming @yahialababidi, as a non-native speaker I always have hard time with articles, especially with when to omit them :)

My pleasure, @vitkolesnik :) It's a good work of art, and I did not realize English was not your native language (though that explains your akward phrasing, in parts).

As an editor and poet, I'm always looking for what to cut out... Poetry is what remains when there is nothing left to lose :)

I can't believe I'm only just finding your writing now! You have Yahia to thank :)

There is a confidence to your lines that comes only with consistent practice and knowledge of the craft. Each couplet stands on its own two legs and yet together, they add up to so much more, a thought through and captivating poetic statement.

Truly, such an enjoyable read. I look forward to catching up with your recent writes.

Thanks for the appreciation!

Thanks for this powerful poem.

Each line is golden and the message awesome.

My favourite is..

the paths are scattered,
yet each of them leads to the goal.

Thank you once again and keep steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25