Independently Co-dependent (Original Poem):

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20170512-220114.jpg

I measure independence by the amount of jewellery I can clasp on before I ask another for help

I measure independence by throwing myself in situations where I must become my own knight, shielded in armoured witty remarks and well thought out escape plans

I measure independence in every step I take alone, left hand on bag and right hand by my side, swinging to the beat of my steps

At times I fear ageing

I think, pensioner or prisoner?

The dependencies of the elderly after 70 years of being free?

That seems awfully unsettling

I’ll happily measure independence but seem to forget the cup when measuring dependence

A teaspoon of solidarity but a litre of dependency

I like to think I’m independent but are we ever as independent as we think we are?

Independently, co-dependent.

- viazenar

(Image: Marija Tiurina)

Sort:  

"I’ll happily measure independence but seem to forget the cup when measuring dependence" Amazing

Thank you so much!

Wow - beautifully expressive.

Thank you so very much 🙏

Thank you! I am happy to hear that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91