Pearlescent Poems # 40: If I Said I Was An Island... (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

If I said I was an island, would you still come to visit me,
As I wallowed in the shallows of the shorelines just fidgeting?
Pretending not to care as the waters just stood still
Yet hoping from the inside for a token of goodwill

It's so easy to push away, like an unanchored ship
Drifting from the docks, feeling secure and much equipped
But on those lonely nights abroad, the silence does fail to comfort
To the point the pain returns, realizing, being numb, hurts

I can say that I'm island, but that doesn't make it true
Just illusionistic barriers to protect me with a view
Exotic fruits that rot and white sand that's rough to touch
Where palm trees cast dark shadows on my fire's short term crutch

Where the winds hug me with ice, and the creatures taunt me from the rushes
Awakening at nights screaming, as a crab's claw grabs and crushes
Many S.O.S's made, yet destroyed again by my pride
When inside I know, I need you all, that's something I should not hide

Let's break each other out of our detrimental shells, imprisoning mental cells, and where the isolated, resentful dwell…
All it takes is love.
"




Poem Again With Gifs

If I said I was an island, would you still come to visit me,
As I wallowed in the shallows of the shorelines just fidgeting?
Pretending not to care as the waters just stood still
Yet hoping from the inside for a token of goodwill

It's so easy to push away, like an unanchored ship
Drifting from the docks, feeling secure and much equipped
But on those lonely nights abroad, the silence does fail to comfort
To the point the pain returns, realizing, being numb, hurts

I can say that I'm island, but that doesn't make it true
Just illusionistic barriers to protect me with a view
Exotic fruits that rot and white sand that's rough to touch
Where palm trees cast dark shadows on my fire's short term crutch

Where the winds hug me with ice, and the creatures taunt me from the rushes
Awakening at nights screaming, as a crab's claw grabs and crushes
Many S.O.S's made, yet destroyed again by my pride
When inside I know, I need you all, that's something I should not hide

Let's break each other out of our detrimental shells, imprisoning mental cells, and where the isolated, resentful dwell…
All it takes is love.
"



Thank you for reading this post in its entirety. Update, my children are feeling better and I actually tie this poem to my other 2000th Milestone post, so you can see this as an accompanying Part 2. I hope you enjoyed this for what it is. Let's continue to support and uplift each other by examples and be involved in the community.


I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $196 and .18 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $00.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Quite gifted with words you are, my friend @verbal-d. it is interesting to stand in the paradox of being alone and never being alone! It feels good to help each other and life is oh so much more enjoyable. Connected we are!

As usual--your gifs are always really great. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I had a feeling you would feel a connection with this one since you stand for unity and love and many good things. We truly rely on one another, you are so right.

It really is added to with the gifs isnt it. Really good poem!

Thank you for the nice compliment and for reading my artwork. I appreciate it. The gifs are always a delight to choose.

I like how you're using this place as a platform to work on it, exactly as you describe in the poem ^~

Kudos brother :)

Yes, we are always constantly growing and learning about ourselves. Thank you for your comment and feedback. Much appreciated. Kudos!

You write well, friend. I like the line about the crab's claw!

Thank you very much bro, I'm glad you enjoyed this one. The crab claw was one of my favorites too, it just came to my head when imagining the pet peeves of sleeping alone outside on the beach.

i got emotional reading this one, you have a gift my friend truely

Thanks so much friend, I try and always write from a familiar place that speaks to all my readers if possible with that silver lining to connect with you. It is indeed an emotional piece, and I'm glad it resonated with you.

your very good. you have as I said a gift, i see now its beyond just music, its flows equally with you with poetry and writing, you draw in a good feel.

Thank you again very much, if you are a fan of short stories, I do have one I have released on Steemit titled "They Didn't See It Beneath Them" it is a tightly packed 12 chapters if you're into oceanic adventures with many sea creatures being the main characters. I try to just express my creative mind however I feel in the day. I'm sure you are creatively gifted beyond singing, songwriting and guitar playing. I aim for the good feelings, and it only enhances the experience we can give one another while we are here alive in the Now, of this earth. We make a difference, small rippling into large waves kind of difference. Beyond the domino effect.

Let's break each other out of our detrimental shells, imprisoning mental cells, and where the isolated, resentful dwell…
All it takes is love."

Nice to hear that , the more the merrier .
How will steemit cope with all those overflowing lovely vibes :D

That's a big compliment, thank you for your kind words. We all have some core common values to resonate on together. I hope my words reach those who it can aid and uplift, because what I or anyone puts forth into the world, does have an impact and influence when it circulates. Humbled and grateful for readers such as yourself.

You give me too much credit, but I'm grateful. If there is one thing I do well on here it's read :D , you make a great point with the middle sentence , that's the reality we should strive for, but yes back to you , thank you for hosting and sharing your great poetry, your moments and your upbeat tracks :)

Gave everyone a follow :) , the feed will get quite high for me , time to surf :D

Yeah I know exactly how you feel with the feed being overwhelming, I'm following almost 100 people and it's getting crazy to show love to everyone lol, I'm happy to share my poetry, tracks and other things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30