END THIS FGM RIFE!

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


I thought it was a privilege;

to be born in a village.

Where I show no cleavage; 

nor a disrespectful image.

I have no books knowledge;

around here being literate is a baggage.

Girls still have no right to education; 

hoping it will change as they recently pledge.

****

As illiteracy trends in my mind; 

fear dominates my life.

Fear of the knife;

or being made someone’s wife.

Worse... my dowry is already roaming as cows in the fields.

Ma has no say in this, she has a shamba to weed.

And some traditions to heed.

Who is willing to end this fgm rife?

And give young girls the will to live.

****

They want to make me an old man's wife; 

Why can’t I just live my life?

His wrinkles makes him my grandfather.

But his wealth earns him a new bride is all I gather.

Why do they want to replace my innocence with a home?

Its all about traditions, my rights are yet to come.

I have to go through this to show my devotion.

To my clan, women do what they are told.

They’ll never view my fear as an emotion.

Wonder why they are so cold.

****

Being a wife and a mother is like a promotion.

It earns the respect you deserve, mama says.

Child please, don't fight our ways.

I also crave to be respected or promoted in our nation.

You should first value ours traditions;

her voice yells in my illusions.

****

I wonder who will hear my cry; 

or is everyone deaf?

Do I have to accept FGM to avoid discrimination?

I have a right to education or is this the way of our nation?

My dreams count as an impact to civilization.

Hear me out.

Through this choked throat.

There are other girls in need of redemption.

Please press pause and notice my grief.

Just to understand this pain in brief.

Our tears and fears need you undivided attention.


Pics from Pixabay.com

The struggle continues.

Thank you for coming by.

^^ Black Queen.

Sort:  

Wow that's disturbing, I hope you are not writing about your actual experience.

It is. I lend my voice and pen at times... This is one of those times :)

Thank you for coming by!

Power to you and all women of Africa.

Appreciated! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65373.54
ETH 2639.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84