The Art of Letting Go (a poem)

in #poetry7 years ago




Source: https://pixabay.com/en/mural-girl-balloon-child-heart-1347673/

The Art of Letting Go



As I closed my eyes the other night
I was shocked for you were out of sight
Could it finally be the perfect time?
To let go of the hand that isn't even holding mine?

For years, I've struggled and tried
But dear, my heart too, gets tired
Flowing tears from time to time
Started to create melodies that rhyme

For so long, I've kept these feelings strong
But in the end it was still so wrong
It's not love that's making us dumb
But the pain that'll soon make us numb

"This time," I wonder, "Will I succeed?"
Will my fragile heart finally get healed?
I'm scared and it's hard to assume...
This success might bring yet another doom

What is it that I truly feel?
Love is just so surreal...
"Do I still love you?" I want to ask
Or is it just my ego wearing a mask?

I did love you... without a doubt
Years of loving you... they can fade out
It's funny when I try to think about it...
"Did you really love me even a tiny bit?"

It hurts to imagine the times we spent together
For when we started, there's obviously no forever
I saw it... even from the very beginning
My love for you has no happy ending

The shadow of our past embraced my heart
But now it's slowly getting torn apart
I'm seeing light... I can finally be free
Thanks for helping me mold a stronger me

I can now treat you, the same way you do
A friend... a sibling... the way you want me to
Slowly, yet surely, I'm letting you go
Until when??? Even I don't know...


@tegoshei




Here's a poem I created a few minutes ago... I just can't help writing when something goes inside my head.. xD
彼のことがまだ好き?私も知りません!大変でしょう?(笑)


Thanks for dropping by!
Love lots, @tegoshei

Sort:  

Keep it going Shi! As usual, you did a good job on this one. Is this based on a true experience? Girl, you have to tell me the story some time. I'm always a chat away.

"Diri nalang ko kutob, diri nalang ko taman. Dili na ko mu gukod sa tawng kusog mu dagan" heheh you're poem reminds me of that vispop song.

Keep it up!

You know the story behind this nman gud.. hahaha... I haven't really liked any other guys since 3 years ago... :P Nagkita pa gni mo pag-Bon Odori.. hahah xDDD

Waaa~ mukanta ko sa balai ana, mukatawa ra sila mader... xD muana dayon.. kanus-a to mubalik dai? adtoa sa Japan kaw! lol.. supportive lang? xD

Thanks @akielle -nee! lablab much! (^3^)

I can feel the pain ... 🤧

The pain that has lingered for years... charbaki.. haha xDD
Thanks Nin... <3

Garaa brad! Hahaha insert song "di na ko mogukod sa tawng kusog mo dagan kay kung di jud di jud, wa natay pugsanaaaaaayyy" ahahahahaha

Hahahahaha.. pareha lang mo saqng best friend brad dahh!!! Mao jud brad.. Di na ko mugukod ky dili madala'g dagan ang Japan.. hahahaha :P

Luuuhhh taga Japan diay?? ahahahahaha

oo brad... pero mu let go na lageh ko.. hahah.. charbaki... gyahahaha :P

This is absolutely beautiful.

Thank you so much, sis!!! <3

Excellent post, very well articulated. thank you so much.

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.46
ETH 2656.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81