The Journey (original poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago


"photo credit: Pixabay"


Here I sprawl, curled up, frozen and cursed


Here I crawl, meekly, cold and weakened


Here I crouch, pained, chilled and weighed down


Here I slouch, curious, warm and open


Here I stand, strong, heated and proud


Here I am, alive, comfortable and of healthy mind





This poem tells the story of something very personal to me. This thing is ever present in many people and very much so out of sight. I’m talking about depression. It’s very easy to fall into it and not always so easy to climb back out. Sometimes it takes a little help... and time. With depression sometimes even the smallest of things can make it seem like the world is ending. Everything starts to feel just so heavy and doing the simplest of tasks can feel like climbing up a mountain.

But everything starts somewhere. Everyone has felt these feelings at some point. I’m sure most of you can understand what I’m mean when I say that it’s scary. It’s something that can make you feel alone, no matter how much support you have. It can make you feel like you’re suffocating, so you struggle to breathe. It can even make everything seem so dark, that when you stumble and fall and lie there sprawled out and you decide it’ll be better to just sleep.

Despite all of this, my poem is not just about being stuck in this depression. It’s about the journey that is taken when crawling out of it. It takes time. It takes effort. You can’t go from being sprawled out on the floor to standing tall all in one motion. You have to pick yourself up slowly. Get your footing. Be patient with yourself and those trying to help you.

Starting off on the journey is the most difficult thing. You can’t see the tip of the mountain and you’re ill equipped for the climb. That’s why it’s okay to ask for help. If you can’t ask your family then try a friend. The first step is talking about it and deciding that you want a change. From there you can only go up.
Thank you all for reading through my post. As a topic that’s very important to me I truly appreciate it.


-Surly Kyle

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this @surlykyle it is such an important topic. Depression impacts so many people. It's something that needs to be discussed openly and I really admire you for doing so. Great post!

This post has received a 1.74 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @walkerland

Lovely n true Lines.
Thanks for Sharing
Following You for future posts

Thanks so much. I truly appreciate the kind words and the follow!

You are Welcome and your lines are more meaningful, and I have no words to appreciates YOU.

Wonderful poem! Thanks for sharing. It's true that it takes time and effort from our side to climb out of depression. There are times in life when we all feel like we are breaking down.

Thank you :) This post is really important to me so I appreciate the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81