Oh Judgment (100 Days Of Poetry Day #7)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Oh Judgment

Oh judgment
It's you again

He's "bad"
She's "good"
I'm the best
I'm the worst
Thank you for your strong opinions

I appreciate you
For trying to keep me safe
For trying to decipher reality

Oh judgment
Your wide-sweeping assumptions
Fail to account for the subtleties of life

While you want to conveniently place everything in two buckets
1 or 0
Good or bad
Black or white
Life says otherwise

Does 100% of anything really exist in life?
Does 0% of anything really exist in life?

Probably not
No one is as bad
Or as good
As you think they are

The colors of life
Exist between black and white
Yet with infinite hues
Endless variations

Oh judgment
I acknowledge you
Though most of the time
You do not serve my highest interest

You do
However
Provide the contrast
For me to truly Be
And for that
I thank you



Thank you so much for reading. If you enjoyed this, please follow me @stephenparato and join the Steemit School Discord channel HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11