The Downtown Guitarist

in #poetry6 years ago

I lay in wait for the beginning of a new dawn
Swiftly loftily I arise with my salient guitar in my arm
With my cigarrate tucked in my mouth, I play to the rhythm of piety.
‘Let love lead’ I cry, for I understand that the fruit of hatred is nothing but pandemonium.

In a society of self-centered individuals with fake identities
Who value certificate more than talents and inborn intelligence
Everyone struggle for power and even more power
Killing a brother for earthly possessions
Oh! How humans have become savages
Where lay thy humanity?
Where lay thy rationality?
Where lay thy integrity?
Thou bartered it for froths.

I am hated by all because I smoke, as if smoking is the greatest sin on earth?
What about killing?
What about lying?
What about committing of adultery?
What about theft?
What about discrimination?
I weep for our ignorance.

Pray for the peace of our nation.
IMG-20180406-WA0001.jpg
I am the downtown guitarist.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85