Pain of Impact

in #poetry6 years ago

alexey-lin-27778-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

Rivers of sun paint the walls
I am one of them
a wall, not a river or a sun,
firming up the expected
structure of home.

Giants roamed this earth once
wearing feathers and claws
I chew my nails to stubs,
stay put dividing rooms
dust is my couture.

In the garage, find a hammer
bury it in my plaster heart
break me down slowly
it is the only way for me
to be free.

Do not worry yourself
as I crumble; know I prefer
the pain of impact
and potential for rebuilding
over stagnation.

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I love the sense of time in the second stanza
Giants roamed this earth once vs I...stay put
and how it contrasts to the final stanza, which kind of look forward towards breaking out of staid habits and playing it safe.

Great work!

I appreciate your deep readership and thoughtful responses @tessaragabrielle. <3

Even stagnation is ultimately evolution as there is only so many times one can fall into repetition until one comes to an inevitable halt. But yes pain is preferable to a colourless life of half eaten happiness ...

You've said it beautifully @tygertyger:

a colourless life of half eaten happiness ...

Genial poema, @shawnamawna. Cada una de las estrofas dan el sentido de lo que es y están muy bien logradas. No es gratuito que se identifique con la pared. La pared puede unir, pero también separar. Las paredes están acostumbradas al martillazo, al hueco, a la destrucción, pero también a servir de soporte, de dar resguardo. He escuchado tantas veces: "esa persona es una pared", pero nunca me había detenido a metaforizar la idea. Lo leo nuevamente y pienso en la analogía perfecta que hiciste. Te felicito

Muchas gracias @nancybriti. I love that your insightful and detailed comments are giving me the opportunity to work on my Spanish.

I admire your unique knowledge you have on poetry. @shawnamawna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85