Introspection in 8 Stanzas (Original Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

art-2981726_1920.jpg

I don’t have much faith in the concept of true love
But if it ever came along I would accept it
If I don’t take care of myself, I’m going to die young
But if death comes along too soon I will reject it

I’m not so much a quitter
I just never give myself a chance to really start
I’m not at all a handyman
But I’ve used masking tape to mend my broken heart

I miss seeing the stars in the night sky
But I would see them if I just looked up once in awhile
Looking inward hasn’t served me well
I’d be better off viewing the world outside myself

I’m not looking for someone to save me
Although once in awhile I’d appreciate a pat on the shoulder
I’d rather be a redwood than a sapling
But that becomes less likely as I get older

I dream about a perfect life
Then don’t take even the most basic steps to bring it to fruition
I live like I want the diploma
Without ever reaching into my pocket to pay the tuition

Against my better judgement
I have deluding myself down to a science
I strike my flint against the stone
So that for a fleeting moment there is a spark of defiance

People come and people go
And every single departure tells a story
The meaning in this piece is clear
There’s no need to wrap it up in allegory

Stand up and push your shoulders back
Walk into the hellfire with confidence even if it’s just for show
Give the impression that you’re strong as steel
And if you’re quaking on the inside only you will know


My name is Scott. Please follow me for more Poetry, Knowledge Bombs and other thoughts.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91