Invictus ( Don't Accept Defeat/The Seasons Of Life)

in #poetry6 years ago

20180903_184338-01.jpeg

Here is a poem by English poet

William Ernest Henley.
Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and fears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find me, unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.
William Ernest Henley.

What is it that you desire most in this world? Write that down on the first page of a notebook.

On the second page write what you are willing to give up in order to obtain your desires.

Selah
20180805_104112.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27