A Bout of Dark Poetry #5

in #poetry5 years ago

images (53).jpg

What do you do when you discover you’re the bad guy?
The one warned about by parents,
The one spoken to by preachers?
What do you do when you discover you’re the villain?
The one who hurts others for his own private gain?

I am not sadistic,
I actually do love!
Yet when the urge beckons and I get my chance
Every inhibition goes down the sinkholes of my twisted mind
And I do it all again.

I am the pedophile, the rapist
Who molests his own daughter—the love of his life.
The sleazy pastor, the dirty cop
Gleaning little from many for a chance at decent living.

I am the crooked politician, the money pilferer
Who only wants the good for his family.
The market seller who cheats profit,
Just a little profit to care for her kids.

I am always sorry
I do feel remorse!
But how real can it be
When I know I will get up tomorrow
And start the circle afresh?

I am the villain, this I know
And no matter what I do
I will always have the darkness.


'Thoughts of a Villain' is part of Darkness and Light Anthology, now available on Amazon.

covers 3.jpg
Find more of my original works as Peter M. Ogwara on Amazon!


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86