Winter Storm (Original Nonet Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image.png
Image Credit: Jake N.

Winter Storm

an Ice wind crashes against my skin
ossifying my body whole
gales whistle and jeer my plight
chattering teeth answer
flesh oscillating
falling forward
"must...get..Uh..p"
Dreaming...
Warmth

=============================
What's up, Steemians? Every now and then, I like to try my hand at different types of form poetry. I recently learned about this one and thought it sounded interesting. The name of the form is "Nonet". It consists of nine lines with a diminishing number of syllables for each line. In other words, the first line is 9 syllables, followed by the second line which is 8 syllables, and so on. It's a pretty neat structure, and I found it both freeing and challenging. Some of you guys should give it a try.

Have you ever felt a wind during a winter storm that took your breath away? I'm talking about winds that are so cold that they literally froze you. I don't mean frozen as in turned you solid, but that your movement was frozen. Every time I'm in one of those situations, I imagine myself in a struggle for my life, stumbling through nature's merciless attack. That's what I tried to capture here. Thank you for reading. Please let me know what you thought. If you liked this post, please upvote or resteem. I appreciate it, thanks.

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png

Sort:  

This poem is so beautifully written. It touches your heart.

Gave me the shivers. Nice work!

I also like playing with new forms from time to time as a way to break routine. The Nonet is new to me; I'll have to try one soon.

Just this week I've had to walk into wind that was so fierce I literally could not progress. I'm also very susceptible to cold, so I hear you.

I like the "nonet" structure, sounds interesting!

I absolutely adore this following line:

gales whistle and jeer my plight

I also love how you finish it, with the sweet warmth of surrender.

I do feel that "oscillating" was a bit much, and I must admit the character speaking caught me unprepared, and seemed intrusive. But then again, one final moment of struggle, before the final and eternal release.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28