Morning Pills

in #poetry7 years ago

Morning Pills

IMG_9675.JPG

This morning before
I ever lifted my head,
I turned to see
Your half of the bed.
And what a harsh reminder
Of how I'm growing old
With your side of the bed
Still unbearably cold.
Your sheets are not tossed,
Your pillow unpressed--
All lovely reminders
Of my current distress.
Was it not merely a month ago
That I was curled against your skin?
We were perfect puzzle pieces,
Your shoulder to my chin.
All day long
We would curl up and sleep
With nothing like time
And business to keep.
But what a terrible disease
Lurked inside my mind.
I never thought I could be
So selfish and unkind.
If only I had known
I was capable of such sin
I never would have let
Our cursed romance begin.
I could promise to never
Let it happen again.
I could take my pills
Like I refused to then.
I could be so much better,
My darling, please see.
If only, if only
You'd come back to me.


IMG_8492101516c8cd.png gBa9RVc5d77b.png 3Ql9WMr![fun-937106_640.jpg](https://steemitimages.com/DQmUpb7wgd4rfSnkF7G3Tyf7FCj1wScZTNGjwqx7EF1t2o5/fun-937106_640.jpg)6bb62.png IMG_84932f1397d8cf.png IMG_8491cc014837bc.png

Thanks for lovely picture, Pixabay

Thanks for all support, Follow me @mindfreak

Sort:  

A good reminder to all to take care of our relationships before they are gone.
Some people need pills to help them function more sanely and normally.
Others just need to focus on controlling our impulses through meditation or some other spiritual practice.
But we all have to do what we need to do to take good care of ourselves and those we love.

You never know what you have until it's gone.

Totally. Thank you so much for stopping by.

Lovely poem. Sad, but with just a touch of cheeky? If I am reading right.

good poetry, keep it up.

I am glad you liked it. Thank you so much 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27