BEHIND THE STICK…

in #poetry7 years ago

harrysbar.jpg

Behind The Stick...

Exalting in revelry
with the crowds each night
separating those knuckleheads
before there's a fight

Spinning those bottles
shaking the tins
taking care of the regulars
listening to their sins

Imbibing on laughter
while embracing nightfall
doling out shots
to another pub crawl

Playing the game
without breaking hearts
moving on quickly
before anything starts

Toasting the night
to crying in their beer
"I love all you guys…"
is the last thing I hear

Living the nightlife
accepting its terms
takes its toll over time
my liver confirms

Besides all the fun
times spent with good friends
you rarely see sun
except when your night ends

Through all of the frolicking
that cool vibe in the air
there's never a lack of
ugliness and despair

Moments you've witnessed
too personal to ignore
are only made possible
over one more...

Such blatant humanity
amongst all the schtick
it not all fun and games
…behind the stick.


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

nice

Wow, that is an entertaining poem.

Enjoyed it - & btw, have never read a poem based on Night life/clubs

Thanks @janashby... Appreciate it!

Great work. I really enjoy your stuff. :)

Thanks man... Right back at ya!

They always say, write what you know about. This is something you know well, I am sure! Nice poem!

I'd s ay I know a wee bit... Thanks @kenny-crane!

nice my dear great work

Thank you!

Strong finish with the stick!

Steem on :)

CHEERS!

Cheeers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83