Confession

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

confess

PHOTO CREDIT


CONFESSION


I think that, with you,
What I regret the most
Is not what I did,
but what I didn't do.
Because, until now,
I haven't told you
So you don't know.
Or maybe you do
But it's still different if it came from my own mouth.


* This is probably one of the shortest poems I ever made. *


Confessions. Some people consider them as catalysts for beginning something, either by the road they intended, or by a new road opening up to them, as I'm sure that anyone who has fallen in love has considered this idea: To Tell or Not To Tell

Those who choose to brave these waters would come out either with a broken heart upon finding out that it is unrequited or with a budding relationship after finding out is mutual. Whichever the case, they move forward and experience the next road, and know for sure whether to close that door or to enter it.

But hard, oh how hard it is. I know. I've been there way too many times. And often it is only in poetry or stories that I " 'fess up".

There was one guy, I gave him a poem to express my feelings, and then I stopped talking to him altogether. Lol. I just couldn't bring myself to. We used to be good friends. But after that, I stayed away. I never really did find out his feelings. I still regret it sometimes. Of course, I've been over him for years, but I regret that I destroyed our friendship when I didn't even have to.

I stopped confessing at all, after that. I would still write poetry, but I would never give a hint. I would just stay that good friend to them all through out, because I know that eventually, sometimes faster, sometimes taking a long time, but definitely eventually, I would get over them too. And I did.

Then a few weeks back, once again, I decided to let this good friend of mine know through a piece of poetry I wrote for him. The very same guy I wrote this "Confession" for, way back then, though this was not the piece I used to tell him. My feelings for him were long gone, and I merely just wanted to let him know that once upon a time, he really inspired me so. I thought it was a waste to not ever let him know that he touched someone's heart and life that much. Being a writer himself, he liked the poem and thanked me. Basically, that was my way of closing that door. Closure, so to speak. But we are good friends even now, probably even better than before. :3

Confessions. Some people see it as a catalyst for a beginning.
But for me... Confessions will always be my closures.


APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Wow, this is really well written! AMAZING! I really like the philosophical touch in the end. It's got a red thread through the entire piece.

I really like confessions. I think that by confessing to someone, you are also true to yourself. This is something I truly admire in a society where you are supposed to think and act as "everyone else"...

Anyways, if you're in to fitness, treveling or vlogs feel free to check out my channel. Otherwise have a great day! Good luck with future confessions. HUGS 🌷

Confessions will always be my closures.

That is amazing @kdee916. wise words

Thanks! ^^

Congratulations @kdee916! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05