Yes or No?

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



leonid-afremov-winter-silence.jpg



I’ve been waiting for an answer
And you’ve been silent


It seems I can ask for anything
And you’ll reply

But not this one thing
And I don’t know why.

I remember times I’d come home exhausted
And fall into bed, too tired to talk

But you’d wait quietly and inevitably
I’d mumble a word or two and then, you’d start

It was always that way between us—
I’d talk and you’d listen

But you always acknowledged my presence,
You’d always be ready with an answer

So much so that yes or no
Didn’t even really matter.

I miss those times now
And I really need your help

This is not the time to close up
And withhold yourself

When you go quiet I start to fear
And that will just trigger tears

And we don’t want that

So make it easy on yourself
Just tell me yes or no out loud.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

It sounds like the answer is one that will deliver pain and yet silence delivers it just as aptly. Nothing like being on tender hooks.

yes, it's actually a conversation with God - Guess I was too subtle with this one

The thought did occur to me, but there also is a sense of domesticity and romance past it best before date running through the piece. So really I would say the poem works on two levels. I am of the belief that almost all romantic poems are at their root about our relationship with the divine. We just don't tend to know it:)We seek for the 'heavenly' in the physical.

a very good point, Pryde :)

Really heartfelt poetry, silence is very lonely as is feeling invisible🐓

so true...thanks

Your welcome :) Can you check my poem as well. It's not well written but I'm trying @johnjgeddes :)

what inspired you to right this? you're missing someone close to your heart?

Very creative i would say ,but i don't understand what kind of a relationship that would be , yes or no is not good enough , what about confort.

I honestly think it's very creative

One word, FANTASTIC!

just perfect!!

You got a 1.50% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 3.64 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31