Our Latent Love

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



B21XLpMIcAErsD9.jpg



I turn down the music—
The saxophone’s too loud
And even Jazz Noir
Can grate on nerves
When it gets late.


It’s cold out and I can hear
The rush of heat in the grate;

I’m haunted as the starlit yard
Crisscrossed with animal trails
And tracks I made.

Did I say it’s late?
Not that I expected you to wait,
But I did, and you being you, didn’t

And that’s the story of us
And our latent love…

Not unlike the spring
Hidden under the weight of snow

But blossoming even now
Like Aaron’s rod,
Ever white, ever beautiful, ever new…

Ever you.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I'm looking forward to seeing the rod... Nice metaphor.

😄😇😄

@creatr

ha ha, it always stuck me as resembling snowy petals - thanks, creatr :)

Love love love, John. You are the real deal poet. Great phrasing and storytelling.

thanks, Pryde - I value your opinion

Very nice poem. Art is beautiful and poetry is art.

Thank you! a poetic comment :)

"Not unlike the spring
Hidden under the weight of snow"[ i love it..!]200w_d (9).gif

John your poetry leads us to a lost love with the desire for a future reunion of passion. I have also found the snowy environment that you included in the postcard very pleasant. Best regards

thanks, Felix

But blossoming even now
Like Aaron’s rod,
Ever white, ever beautiful, ever new…

I love, love, LOVE this bit.

This image is beautiful beyond words.

Thank you for sharing all these wonderful pieces, John.

That poetry is very beautiful, very expressive. I loved it. I follow you and I leave you my vote. Greetings.

This post has received a 4.44 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

You got a 1.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Wonderful poem with beautiful picture.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87