A Poetic Piece - My Mother

in #poetry5 years ago

She was young in her afro hair and baggy jeans,
When my father sighted her from afar and got interested,
Like a puppy, they played as friends till it became solid,
And they said “I do” in front of thousands of loved ones.

They thought that was the beginning of the joy for them,
But they were wrong because life had its own plans,
They waited for a child for so many years to no avail,
My sweet mother cried till tears turned to blood on her face.

Her in-laws waged war against her innocence self,
They threatened to chase her away from home,
Some even called her nothing but a barren witch,
But she was strong and continued to fight for her vows.

Luckily, I came all along and they shut their horrible mouths,
It was a bouncing baby boy with a face like an angel,
She had me through operation but it was worth it,
I came at the right time to make her heart happy.

She sat and watched me grow through life,
My mother, my first love and my confidant,
Her formal education is the reason I am who I am,
For without her, there will never be me.

A toast to my driver to this world,
For your selfless effort to turn our house to a home,
I remember many times when you had to become my father,
Just because he is broke and couldn’t afford to keep up.

Thank you for everything you have done,
The scars from the beatings are why I never spoilt your name,
The midnight talk is the reason I have become a man today,
Nobody can ever replace you in my life.

imagePixabay CC0


This poetry is about my mother. She has been strong ever since she married my father. Anytime I think about her effort, support and love for her children, I pray solemnly for her. I remember fighting for my sake, receiving insults because of my siblings and being called a witch for being a mother. Her place in my heart is irreplaceable and if mother's Day is everyday, it is surely worth it. Every scar on my body from her beatings is a reminder or a lesson for me. She is the reason for the season that has made me a man despite the challenges and trials. Thank you mama.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @ilukzymoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04