SBD a (@quillfire's) Poem Recitation Contest

in #poetry5 years ago

Greetings, dear Steemians.

This is my contribution to @quillfire's stinky contest (https://steemit.com/contest/@quillfire/s-b-d-poem-recitation-contest-25-sbd-minimum-comedyopenmic-40).
This is actually my first video ever. I had been planning to start posting videos on other subjects, but this challenge came up and under threat of being gassed I had no choice but to accept it.

I think the poem is both hillarious and pungent, qualities shared only by the best satires.

My recitation, on the other hand, stinks, but that was done on purpose to keep in line with the subject matter.

Thank you for your visit. If you liked the poem, go and support @quillfire. He's been producing great poetry and criticism for a while.

Here's the text:

S-B-D

Think not that it strange, some words we derange,
Torture what once did impart,
Too words, they disgraced; as if they unchaste,
Such word, I’d argue … is ‘Fart.’

It’s strange but it’s true, we launched it a coup
Mutiny, rebellion, revolt,
The king we deposed, new words we composed,
As ‘Fart,’ we sought to demote.

We began to Pass Gas, out through it our ass,
Began, to Cut it the Cheese,
Began to Break Wind, as other’s chagrined,
For blowing ... a Backdoor Breeze.

We’ve replacements galore, like the Ol’ Rump Roar,
Butt Yodeling, for those in the know,
Bend from the knees, for a good Butt Sneeze,
The gift’s in the giving, bestow.

You Toot Your Own Horn, though never forewarn,
You blast your Buttock Bassoon,
Your O-Ring Oboe, it has a good go,
Artisté, you carry a tune.

But what of old friends, on those we depend,
Old friends … no better than Fart,
Seductress, a vamp; you’re off with your tramp,
While breaking … your old friend’s heart.

In place of a mystery, with Fart you’ve a history,
With Fart, you know what you get,
It’s easy to spell … and easy to smell,
And works, when even it’s wet.

Remember, recall; when once you were small,
The fun you had with your Farts,
You called them by name as played you your game,
Before … you learned of upstarts.

But now you are old, and soul you have sold,
Now, you’ve much you desired,
Behave as you ought, forgot how you fought,
By what … you once were inspired.

From whence came the flame that brought you acclaim,
From whence, did come it the spark,
Where found you your brawn, to fight carry on,
Imprint, that left it it’s mark?

Not all do agree, what means S-B-D,
Acronym … what was it, the source?
@ned, he’s a coder … cheese pizzas, an odor,
… Silent But Deadly, of course.

So do what you will … but I have a Quill,
And stand, I will for my friend,
I’ll draw it my sword, and fight it the horde,
Though lone, I stand at the end.

Sort:  

Quote From QuillFire Comment Post:

@hlezama,

Hmmm. A non-video video. I've always said that the Power of Prosody is in the Pause ... but I think this takes things beyond what I had in mind. :-)

Quill

I presume a technical error. :-)

Quill

You can't play the video? No way!

@hlezama,

Hey H. This is what I'm getting:

All other videos are displaying correctly so I don't think it's a problem on my end.

Quill

Ok. I'll check
Edit: Try again. Sorry about that

Quill,
You don't get images and videos quite frequently.
I assure you it is there.
Thank you @hlezama I will vouch for you.
We have an entry!
I have resteemed your steamer.

Hi @hlezama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.269 which ranks you at #19969 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #114.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09