THIS AUTHORITY HAS MADE YOU DRUNK- An original Poem written by me.

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

sotdus.jpg

Imageref

I can remember vividly when you were nothing, I was your play mate.
I can remember how we soak garri most times when there was nothing to eat.
I can remember how we walked together and you were never ashamed of me.
I can remember several times how I will share my clothes with you, since you didn't have yours.

I can remember how we trekked to choir practice together not minding the heat of the sun.
I can remember how I will split my school fee into two giving you the other half to pay so that you won't forfeit your admission.
I can remember how zealous you were for the Lord, yes I can remember.
I can remember all the times we shared together, they were all wonderful.

But today is a different story,
You no more serve God as you use to,
You know more pray to your creator,
You feel so reluctant to even attain Bible study,
You feel you've arrived.

I wouldn't even talk about me, you see me as a distraction.
You see me as a nobody,
You see me as one who has no life's ambition,
You forgot that life is turn by turn,
You forgot that there is time for everything,
You forgot that for the fact that you are up there today doesn't mean someone else can be up there tomorrow.

Alas! The authority you gained as made you drunk,
Alas! You are Intoxicated by authority
People you are suppose to regard and help, you now trample upon them.
Your siblings beg to see you,
Your parents beg to have a word with you,
And we your friends beg to have a conservation with you.

Why! Why!! Why!!!
Why have you let the devil have a greater part of you?
Why have you allowed him win the battle over your life?
Why have you given him the chance to get hold of you.

This authority has really made you drunk, hope it won't do same to me?
I pray it doesn't because I never want to be like you. Before we both were role models to each other but right now I can't say.

I really hope you learn fast and return to your first love, God.
He is waiting patiently for you.
He is always and will always be a loving father.

This is from the writing desk of one who is aiming for the top, but yet never wants to be intoxicated or drunk with Fame or Authority, so help me God.

I remain

glotokens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78