Hurting Hearts - Loneliness SuckssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

If you've ever felt like you're sitting on the sidelines and missing out on life, you can relate to this.

If you've ever wondered what life would be like if you could only share it with someone else, you can relate to this.

If you're sad and lonely and wondering what's the point of living, then please stop and know that many others can relate with you. You're beautiful and valuable and you are loved!


I was once one of the kids picked last for sports teams; once one of the kids who didn't have a date to the prom. I was once one of the kids called fat and ugly. It hurt me a lot at the time. But now I know who I am. I'm comfortable with the person I've become. I've moved on and transcended in my beliefs and values.

We don't have to be sad. It's not pre-destined by the social order gods.



Hurting Hearts


Lonely in a world full of people
Happiness slowly passing me by
I watch as glasses are raised in celebration
Over cheers of jovial comradery
I stare as arms are locked in meaningful embrace
as lovers share tender moments
Sitting alone, awkward and out of place

No one stops to talk
Even a passing smile eludes my direction
Petrified I dare not move
Like a late evening sun's dying ray
I yearn to simply fade away

Why?
How can I be so invisible
A social outcast
Destined to be hurt by the beautiful people
They will never see
The pain they cause in me
Yet despite my internal strife and mayhem
I dream of being just like them

But in my moment of weakness and despair
My vulnerable hurting heart becomes aware
The world is filled with sadness
Many others silent in their suffering
But it does little to dry a tear
Anxious and afraid
Loneliness is my biggest fear

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.







Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My YouTube Channel

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.76 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @freeinthought.

I have been there and i know the feeling. Some people break and some only become stronger :)

Interesting comment. I think you are correct though. The ones that "break" need our compassion and support. This is partly why I wanted to write this piece. Thanks so much...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87