Anxiety and Me-Poem #6 "Over Saturated"

in #poetry6 years ago

Watch out team! I swear in this one.

I'm mostly saying this on the off chance that my students have followed my Instagram trail over here to my blog. They may be shocked and appalled by my forthcoming language. ha-ha.

When I wrote this I had been feeling a little bit like my bucket of coping skills was running low. I was whelmed by life. I chalk it up to the end of the school year, circumstances beyond anyone's control, and the media and subsequently everyone on social media talking about mental health. Nothing bad or new, just a lot all at once. I was doing the regular bucket filling routine, but I noticed that I was falling into some old and not-so-healthy habits.

What do you do when you feel like you can't cope with much more? Typically I read, write, walk my dog, watch a lot of Netflix, and if I'm feeling up to it, approach a trusted confidant to talk it out with. And then I remind myself that I can and have coped with a lot more, and that I've had the good sense to surround myself with wonderful people. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes I need to go outside the regular routines to deal, and that's ok.

I've decided that what is needed now is a little bit of fun. Any suggestions for fun? I'm thinking maybe rock climbing or bowling or swimming or something, likely with a boy I haven't seen enough of lately.

poem.jpg

I took this picture on my walk today before I started invigilating an exam. LOOK AT ME, COPING!

Thanks for reading! Check out my other poetry below. My goal here is just to continue to post honestly about my mental health struggles, and hopefully encourage others to do the same.


Anxiety and Me-Poem #5 "Pretend"

Sort:  

Congratulations @flaversham! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16