Reminiscing the Past

in #poetry6 years ago

803E7918-318C-4C80-B3D6-D9E0E1CD6BBE.jpeg
Hello there my friends on steemit! Today i would like to share with you two poems which i composed several years back: The first one entitled “One Night In May” and the 2nd one was entitled Dad which can be found at poemhunter.com.
I dedicated these two poems to my father, Guillermo Cantiller Acosta. He died on May 23,1997.

            One night in May

One night in May
I looked through the window
glittering shadows greeted me
trees swinging and the cold breeze
touched me.
then I thought of my father
how I reminisce his presence
I wish he were here

Still is the night as I think of him
what could he be doing in this time of year?
He is in his grave..I hope he is in heaven...
I miss you Dad! and I love you!

By Elizabeth Acosta Kuntz
Over a cup of coffee with Elizabeth
elizabethacostakuntz.blogspot.com

                     Dad

It was ten years ago today that God called you home
It broke our hearts to lose you,
and now we are so alone.

You spent fifty years of your life with Mom.
You shared them day by day.
Mom told you not to leave her yet,
until after the 20th of May.

I saw you struggling to be alive,
so you can spend her birthday with her.
then you left her on the 23rd of May, and she was all alone.
You were the kindest, gentlest father
of anyone I had ever known,
although sometimes you made mistakes,
I always thank God for you.

I miss you more than words can say
So many tears I cried.
Your grand children misses you too
because nobody is like you!

Elizabeth Acosta Kuntz
Over a cup of coffee with Elizabeth
elizabethacostakuntz.blogspot.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.16
ETH 2664.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87