"Sweet deception" A poem

in #poetry7 years ago

Greed feeds
Behind kind smiles
Just bared teeth
Saying words
Meaning none
Gaming games
Are you having fun?



Upvotes, resteems, follows and comments are appreciated as always! Feel free to check out my other poetry if you liked this one and if you'd like to hear any made into songs, let me know in the comments. It'll probably take a while (months? years?) but I'll let you know when it happens!

photo credit: Guy Lejeune Snake via photopin (license)
photo credit: San Diego Shooter Neotropical Rattlesnake via photopin (license)

Sort:  

Greed kills
Behind the smile
There is no one
Saying words
Meaning none
Playing games
Losing one

I'll be honest, my first thought was "Oh crap, did I just experience a wicked case of source amnesia? I didn't mean to plagiarise!! :(!" but then I realised that this a re-interpretation or a continuation (a second verse maybe). Then I was delighted. Do you make music? I think we're halfway to a song!

Ha! Nah, actually the first time I have written a poem or reinterpreted I suppose. I enjoyed your poem thoroughly as I have been thinking much about all the things that can blind us and how greed was one that got me up until recently.

Keep writing poetry!! You’re actually pretty good at it and I think you’ll enjoy it. I’m following you now so if you ever decide to post some poems on Steemit, I’ll be reading and commenting. You suuuure you don’t make music though?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48