You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "I Stand Alone" (Original poetry by @dagger212)

in #poetry6 years ago

Thank you very much! It's a poem that I feel is a little over the top in some ways. I mean, there's so much crammed inside it that I feel it gets away from me a little bit but.....when I was writing it the images and words just kept coming so I kept throwing them down on the paper. lol

I do completely agree with you on the beginning and ending parts. I really think they kind of settle the middle part down some bringing it back home to a more personal level. Thank you for getting that.

My favorite line(s) is "A thousand times it's happened, me alone against the sea/ And though I struggle back again, each fight takes more from me." There truly is a relentlessness to the world beating you down and though a person continues to fight back and get back up again when they get knocked down, it does seem to get harder and harder each time.

Thanks again for reading and commenting. I really appreciate it!

Sort:  

I must say, that was also a favourite of mine on the first read, and one that has stuck with me. The emotion in the imagery of battling against the raging tides of life, alone, with each encounter wearing you down, sapping the strength to go on. It is gut-wretching and beautiful.

Reading it again today, the lines "A desp'rate voice is calling growing fainter with the time /
And though I cannot hear it, I know that voice is mine." Really stand out. The idea of something deep inside you calling out, so tired and faint, you can't hear it anymore. But you know it's there, desperately reaching out, wondering, if you can't hear it anymore, how on earth will anyone else.

As much as I love steemit, I feel the lifespan of poetry here can be too short to reach it's full potential, many are read but never returned to. Then I think back to how I used to re-read the same poems over and over, coming back to them after years away, and often finding a new beauty in lines previously overlooked, surpassed by even more striking lines. Anyway, glad I came back and read this again today, I appreciate it even more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14