"The Wild Land That Made No Sense" --- original poemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

The Wild Land That Made No Sense



Handful of gravel thrown in a toy box:
Weighted down to be a doorstop,
Propped up to be a keepsake,
Crunched down to be a tin can.

Aromatic leather stained teeth
And kind eyed smile spoke quietly,
Telling me of transformation and
Matter being more than It Is.

Back and forth the glance broke glass.
Forest dropped into a bucket of ocean
Drained through a cavernous sink
Collaspe crumbled into furnace fuel
Driving mechanical camel through
Endless desert.



Still I saw that creased face on the
Precarious cliffs aching to fall with
Grin lines under wild eyes whirring
And nod off toddler naps churning.

Blinking airborne amidst scattered gatherings: 
The cloistered lovelorn smatterings of
Hay-hatched huts sewn of time’s thread,
Phasing into colors impossible to read
With human eyes.



Memory shrank, euphoria.
A busted piñata cherry blossom
Blood yellow-brown skin soft touch.

Chills on spine on hair nape of neck,
Dark sheets cold room spun in the
Laundry, smelling pheromones &

Perfumed laughs

Still, that pretty ugly face & I felt  
Burning eyes on my conscience
Reciting the lovely nothings
That made no sense:

Handful of sand flicked in the wind:
Met a raindrop became a mud spot,
Fell in flames became a glass pane,
Crunched in hand became a wasteland.



By Daniel Pendergraft
7/19/17

Photo taken at Boone Fork Trail in Boone, NC


Sort:  

D-pend, this one stumped me. The main thing I got was that there is always transition in life and nature. Matter can go from one thing and become something else. Sometimes something is hard to read but then with motion and a different position, there is understanding. Memories fade in and out. The essence is that life, land, existence, sometimes are confusing but it is like the river, it keeps flowing and moving and transforming. Whatever happens it can be useful and purposeful or wasted and reabsorbed by nature. Sorry, I probably missed the whole point of your poem. But this was my best effort! :D

I love to hear these interpretations! It fascinates me. My inspiration for this piece was dreams, with the first and last stanzas being the "half-logical nothings" (odd thoughts) that often precede slipping into the dream state. The figure of the leathery face is some ancient spiritual being, guru, guide, or deity, who is constantly whispering lessons that appear very difficult to grasp. The normal text in the piece is the relatively stable scenes occurring in the dream in which one is very lucid and aware. The italic text is the less conscious, or more volatile processes of environment, thought, and emotion occurring. The blurs or transitions, if you will.

Normally I don't give a whole synopsis of what a poem means to me, but I thought maybe it would be interesting to you. Thanks for giving your feedback as your intuition of the deeper lessons implied in the poem were spot on :)

Bows deeply

I am haunted by the closing stanza and it's only been thirty seconds since I read it. This is a masterpieces, Daniel.

Thank you kindly... actually to be honest, I drew inspiration from your writing style, a bit, here. I admire the unique voice present throughout your pieces. Sometimes I feel a bit like a chameleon, just trying on different patterns and skins on that quest to discover... Self. Or the All. Same difference ;)

This mutual inspiration is one that works for me fully -- we grow this way, not only as individuals but in community, something extra always grows out of it. <3

I'm humbled by this.

You get from art what you bring to it. What I got from this was that the world is kind of crazy and constantly changing. And that sometimes, morsels of joy can be found in the "lovely nothings" which escape logic. Good write. The inverted picture was a nice touch.

This post has been chosen to feature in today's Muxxybot curation post....*....

I am not sure if bots can receive the energy of gratitude. I hope your creator equipped you with transmuter circuits. In any case, thank you @muxxybot! I'm gonna hoard this Muxxybuck until hype drives its price up to 100 BTC. After all, they're exceedingly rare...

Muxxybot's gratitude receptors are fully functional....*....

....$....Muxxybucks will dominate all other forms of digital currency.

I try to understand your poems but you use such tough vocabs !! I have to keep dictionary beside me :P But i am learning from you. I also write poems, but i am good with rhymes and bad with vocabulary. But don't you think one should use easy words so that people can understand better? I wrote this poem recently, its quite deep, kindly have a look and please help me get better. It is titled as WHO ARE YOU and informs about the reason of our existense and illusions that we get trapped into.

Keep up the good work.
:)

Thank you for your comment @himshweta. For me, poetry is about expressing inner feelings. And words are the tools that do the job. So, even if the words are complicated, if they are the best ones to express a certain feeling, I MUST use them, even if it means some people will not understand it.

Also, when words are used too often they lose their flavor, similar to if you eat the same food every day, it gets boring. So for me it is necessary to always use more and more different words.

However, you're right! It's a good idea to write more simply to reach a bigger audience. So I'll keep that in mind, and I do try to write with more normal words sometimes ;)

I will definitely check out your poem. Thanks again for the comment!

Yes. I got your point now. I too will improve my vocabulary gradually when similar words would get boring and i would require something more to keep it interesting. Thankyou

Thank you kind sir...!

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 16.67 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @d-pend. Vote for Aggroed!

Vote for Aggroed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d-pend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 37.23 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @d-pend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12