"The City of Ynmilmyr"--- original poemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The City of Ynmilmyr


Comets-space-blue-green-planet-free-domain.jpg

Speak the glimmer of Galactic, love.

Mutter the tones & vibrations of space, of healing.
When I hear the silver song of comets,
Life kisses my brows and whispers in my ears.

A message too sweet for silence
Soared in sonic orbs nearly visible
So vivid as I floated through monochrome skies &
Sleek dark shapes of spacecraft glow & swim by.

Green-sky-lake-space-ship.jpg

How many lives grew at the stalk and fell,
Fell far down & died into peaceful nothingness
Before I sleepily arose from pale green pod:
A black water drop ballooning from leafy sanctuary.

Glancing down I beheld clouds far below.
Wispily flowing they swept credulity away;
For I was born of a beanstalk
Into a shell of green-brown skin
Where the mists were magic &
Everybody napped in their warm pea pods.

green-northern-lights-night-sky.jpg


All images are free domain use

by Daniel Pendergraft
7/10/17

@d-pend

Sort:  

This poem is based on a dream I had... Aren't dreams incredible? Sometimes they feel more real than waking life. Leave me a comment about any magical dreams that you can remember! Or just say hi! Have a wonderful day and remember... this life is what you make of it. Spread the gems of your being to those you meet & become a conduit for universal love to flow through you and life can transform in ways you never dreamed were possible.

Wholeness,
@d-pend

My dreams are usually past experiences that were either really happy or traumatic. I guess I have a lot of baggage to deal with because of my longer life than yours. Enjoy your youth and fill it with joyous moments. When I was growing up, I was taught that work was a duty and responsibility and education was important. I worked in the same job in rehabilitation for 35 years. In retrospect, I wish I was more free and creative. I have no regrets because I traveled the path that I did. But I am always happy for the young to be free, happy and experiencing life as it should be. Thank-you d-pend for sharing your dream with us. Sometimes the dream world can be more freeing and beautiful.

great poem, this makes me want to write literature again

Thank you, and you should! It's quite fun... although it can be frustrating if you are too judgmental of yourself or impatient with the process. Or perhaps if you're too worried about what others think. I personally quit writing for around two years. When I recently created a Steemit it inspired me to write again, so I've been more motivated again. I encourage you to do it!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d-pend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @d-pend! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Epic!


I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

The dream that inspired it was indeed epic! Thanks @robyneggs have a great day!

you too! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77