You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unforgettable

in #poetry6 years ago

Hey @mineopoly that's interesting it made you think of Songs of Solomon! And I quite agree that this time of year brings back many memories of bygone years. I am 27 - I can only imagine how it might be to remember twice as many years past. Though, I think the teenage years will always be particularly powerful in anyone's memory, even if they fade and curl with the years like a yellowed tome.

Sort:  

It was the "unserrated teeth" that sounded like a description Solomon might have used:

Your eyes are doves
behind your veil.
Your hair is like a flock of goats
leaping down the slopes of Gilead.
Your teeth are like a flock of shorn ewes
that have come up from the washing,
all of which bear twins,
and not one among them has lost its young.
Your lips are like a scarlet thread,
and your mouth is lovely.
Your cheeks are like halves of a pomegranate
behind your veil.

In 8th grade I remember going to a haunted house in October. It was cold and snowy outside and the girl I liked had no money for a ticket. I bought her a ticket and she gave me the biggest hug and kiss so it was hard to forget even when we met again years after. The moment not forgotten yet not rekindled.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29