Let go of the tail

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Let go of the tail

original poetry


the_tail_by_surrealistic_gloom-d9gm50b.jpg


on_the_hunt_by_darkdex52-d4m056q (1).jpg


一。


If you can even hold the tail
Of the mischievous energy
With hidden intention that
Swarms through the mindswamp
Would you really want to?

Be taken on a wild ride
Through incongruity &
Carnival mirror-halls
.
Be slapped about by
Cartoon physics
On the edge of space?
.
Be buried in a time capsule
So children can enjoy
Your pain
.
Be rarified outside of time
So somewthing vast could
Do the same.


on_the_hunt_by_darkdex52-d4m056q.jpg


二。


On the royal hunt—
It is just around the corner.
Satisfaction, fulfillment, success:
Just as soon as I
Dismiss the mourner.

Spirit-locus,
Crying tears of crystal
Through a lens of sand.
Sorrowed physicality has
Lent the soul a harsh demand.


As soon as conscience be forgot:
Then flesh is all, become the god.
.
Become the savior, come the greed,
Become the fount that fills all need.
.
Yet still unsettled humans feel;
Intuit something subtle, real.

It seems beyond and yet within,
The paradox of not-pretend
Which playful, sweet, escapes all grasp
All-luminous, pure hearts enclasp.


Nurtured, set free, aloof, entreated
Led by stillness, ancient grove:
Explore the humming-lush alcove
Obscured, made clear, embrace, retreated
Bliss divine that halts the race—
Let the hare and tortoise free.


the_tail_by_surrealistic_gloom-d9gm50b (1).jpg


a_twist_on_an_old_tale_by_handyrand.jpg


the_tortoise_and_the_hare_by_splgum (1).jpgthe_tortoise_and_the_hare_by_splgum (2).jpg

Written by
@d-pend
12/20/17
.
Art credits

.
1 — "The Tail" by Surrealistic-Gloom
2 — "On The Hunt" by Darkdex52
3 — "A Twist on an Old Tale" by RandyHand
4 — "The Tortoise and the Hare" by Splgum

a_twist_on_an_old_tale_by_handyrand (3).jpga_twist_on_an_old_tale_by_handyrand (2).jpga_twist_on_an_old_tale_by_handyrand (1).jpg


the_tortoise_and_the_hare_by_splgum.jpg

Sort:  

nice poetry great writting bro u r very taillent like your post.

Huh. I like this. No reason why, I just do. (this is a compliment I swear! your verse is very uncontrived and natural, jealous)

It've mostly work in prose but have tried my hand at verse lately, I would enjoy your opinion on this https://steemit.com/writing/@mitthradiumn/penny-for-your. I know the last line is lame but it feels neccessary as the tone spirals into pretension. Any feedback welcome really.

Haha... thanks @mitthradiumn. I'm a big fan of your writing also, very interesting stuff. Like I said in my other message I welcome any feedback on my stuff, whether critical or non. I really liked the post you made about creative opening lines on Tinder the other day (guess I should've commented there!) I'll go check out piece for sure!

This is logically poem, i can see your ability of stringing words together strange from your health with smooth rhythm. You really did well.

Glad I found you or you me. Love the poem and I am looking forward to read more. 100% upvote and followed. Have great holidays Daniel

The energy of education, soul poetry that cleans through the deepest meditation of @d-pend vibration . You entered a new rhythm, like reading a book in chapters, everything has a related meaning. Good morning / Good night / I go to sleep a bit more .

Ooh, very timely (for me) - thank you!

As soon as conscience be forgot:
Then flesh is all, become the god.

.
... Yet still unsettled humans feel;
Intuit something subtle, real.
It seems beyond and yet within,
The paradox of not-pretend
Which playful, sweet, escapes all grasp
All-luminous, pure hearts enclasp.

Ok, I never pretend to really "get" poetry, but this speaks to me.

Hey, thanks!
I'm glad you don't pretend, and double glad it speaks to you @carolkean!
I don't think one has to "get" poetry as long as poetry "gets" you. xD
Have an awesome day and thanks for your input!

golden words)
the poetry comes into the soul by itself, no efforts are needed
@d-pend, sorry to disturb you, but I left my poem written in inspiration from yours in comments to the previous post, it seems you dont see it or maybe you dont like it and that's why dont reply?) then it's right i shoed it just to you, not to all steemians)

Hi @taliakerch, I have just replied on your poem you left, I must apologize for only now getting to it! Sorry that you must have felt unwelcome with it, but you are more than welcome to share anything you create in the future. Nice attempt! If you are comfortable to make yourself vulnerable, then I think there is no reason you cannot also share with all Steemians)

nono, don't worry, it's ok, I understand that you've so many comments and so many friends here whom you want to reply, but time is limited, and we all have life except Steemit-) I am't offended or angry, I'm glad you see it and didn't say it's shit-))
in fact it was rather difficult for me because English isn't my native language, the lack of words is hard to overcome but I try, and Steemit helps me) Steemit and such nice guys who have time to reply me-)

Hey! This one was more understandable (does the word exist?) for me!! n.n
And I love the last picture it is so cute!

Have you tried formatting a poem like this?

I have seen you play designing the words, sentences and paragraphs! I find it really cool too n.n I don't remember if I had told you xP

Nice! Glad you like the formatting play. I usually only do it when I write with pencil and paper because I align it like that on the page, and then I imitate it using long strings of &nbsp;. But no I have never used that because I kinda forgot you could even use <sub> and <sup> ! Actually there are lots of things I don't know how to do using markdown. I'd like to get more educated there. I learned to program HTML when I was in middle school, but I've forgotten a lot of it.

What do you think is the best way to make text wrap around an image to the left or the right @fabiyamada? I saw there were many options but couldn't figure out which one would be the most simple/convenient for markdown.

I only know this way:

<div class="pull-left">image here</div>

Or pull-right in the class :) others use tables... But the div is cleaner.

And now I would like to see one of those handwriten poems!! :o

Nice, thank you! I will try that out. Actually, I included the handwritten copy as per your request on "Deflated." It was a mechanical pencil, which I don't like using, so I don't think it looks as cool as when I'm really in "the zone." :P

You're welcome!

Very complex poem you my friend are a master of poetry I see you haven't posted in a couple days you must be having a great time in Texas!!! Again merry Christmas Daniel🎄🎄❤️

Every time something new and different. By the time person thinks can catch you, you are new & fresh. Originality cannot be taught but it was inherited from past activities...In this lifetime, I hope you will maximize your talents and use them in the aervice of the Purest virtue

Great Poem. I miss my tail sometimes but I figure havig a tail probably best for the animals and past lives. Thank you (>")>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66331.68
ETH 2720.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87