Am I so Distant from the Dewy Eve?

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Am I so Distant from the Dewy Eve?

....................
---original poetry by @d-pend---
..........
   (Art by Elgama
   & Syntetyc)


dusk_in_the_forest_by_syntetyc-d4wly5o 2.jpg


I listen to the brusque chatter of cicadas
speckling silence through the kitchen window.

Their words become written upon faux wood
and laminated cream,
spotlit by archaic incandescence.

I transcribe them
into lines and curves,
brittle bells
singing histories of chitin
through the paling light.

Dusk comes,
gentle sentry of the hills.

She looks upon me
with the eyes of a worried lover—
I cannot bear to meet her gaze
yet sink into her safety all the same.

My cradle and my palace,
my prison of dewy truths:
My fissures and refractions are told
within the night's dim interludes.

I am soothed in sweet embrace
where my gaps recede and bloom.
Night sends me what is needed;
I am weaved upon her loom.


sunset_by_elgama-d4lhg3o.jpg


red.jpg

Poetry by
@d-pend
7/31/18
.
Art by

.
1 — "Dusk in the forest" by Syntetyc
2 — "Sunset" by Elgama
2 — "Swamp" by Elgama

dusk_in_the_forest_by_syntetyc-d4wly5o 4.jpg


swamp_by_elgama-d4lhg8u.jpg


Sort:  

You really captured the hot humid summer in a positive way @d-pend,

A few simple sounds and you were off into the beauty of a new picture with soothing words. I am laughing because I cannot see the mystery, the joy and the adventure that you see. There was I time I could enjoy "A Mid Summer's Eve" but today I am toast. I lost the naivety that I see in my own children and I am reminded of in this poem.

Thank you for this loom of words that bind me to remember that summer is a blessing and cicada's songs are for lovers and to join together the "dewy truths" of nature.

All that said and done the reality is it is 40 Celsius about 104 F now in Seoul. I'm not used to the heat dragging on so long. I'm glad to read this poem and remember there is a romantic part of suffering. Even now there is construction going on in my office and the a/c is off but I can smile as I read the love song of cicadas.

20180729_191714.jpg

Good day to you @mineopoly. You have no idea how exquisitely happy I am not to be enduring the constant assault of 100-degree summer days. I know the feeling well being born n' raised in Allen, TX. However, I'd be lying if I said I didn't miss it now and then, too (as crazy as that may sound!) May you stay cool, hydrated, and not wither fully, my comrade in Korea.

Regarding your comment about seeing the magnificence of the mundane or even horribly grotesque aspects of our worldly sojourn, it is a point of view that, while healthy and quite "natural," takes varying degrees of efforting to sustain for any meaningful length of time for most humans.

Actually, it is not so common for adults to be able to view the world as a celestial paradise. Very young children inherently know it, until they are confused and indoctrinated by false ways of being practiced by the role models they come to love and respect. Carefree joy is forgotten, replaced by guilt and strain.

Yet since that divine thread
ever awaits its needled flight:
To soar through atramentous skies
and sail through peaks of light--
Awaken we the weaver's script,
Awakened to the morn,
To sit with noble fingers deft
Unwrinkling heaven's storm.

Our choice it remains, while surrendered still to the universal pattern engrained in strange grace emanating through everything.

Loading...

Beautiful singing at night. I feel the transformation of the moon into a lover, as well as the insecurity of possessing it and the subsequent resolution to accept it as it is, to value its presence and accompaniment.

She looks upon me
with the eyes of a worried lover—
I cannot bear to meet her gaze
yet I sink into her safety all the same.

Ella me envía lo que se necesita;
Estoy tejido en el telar de la noche.

There is a recognition of the support provided by feminine forces: the night, the moon ... the woman, represented in the "Eva" of the title.
There is much love in this poetry, but also melancholy and a certain serene sadness as when we contemplate a sunset. I loved the feeling that is perceived.
I hug you strong, strong @d-pend, more and more in love with your poetry.

A sound and feeling that surrounds us every night. The chatter is deafening at times yet so calming in the knowing it has come. Beautiful words. 🐓🐓

This post has received a 20.87 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @d-pend.

the first verse paints an imagery of a home surrounded by the wonders of nature In other words it's rather quite a splendid home, you find solace in the comfort of someone you consider home.

This is beautifully written I must say it's been a while

Nice & Tranquil. Well done @d-pend!

I liked "singing histories of chitin". A great way of combining science and poetry.

I listen to the brusque chatter of cicadas

Cicadas, chitinose bards of the mossy trees.

Question , -are you going to work through the rest of the poetry challenge stuff or have you given up on that ?

@d-pend
Your poems are always amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94