A happy contest

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

A happy contest

.
original poetry
and photos
by @d-pend
.


stumpthumb.jpg


IMG_3257 4.jpgsepia2.jpg


A happy contest


Ringlets, frim detritus,
the pantomime of mildness.
Undergird, a revelry:
in leafblade shadow-puppetry.

Many the ebbs of swaying gnosis
shrill with years' electric glass,
air-conductor, magnet-eyes—
pentafoiling pass.

Out the human archetype
to pour from molten lips;
Sold-turmoil of symmetry,
base and rare eclipse.

Who the carver, who the sprightly,
Who, caressing sky—
Made comet-crowns and human-hands
and fungal feet to vie?


sepia.jpgIMG_3257 3.jpg


leopard-mush.jpg


silvtonestump2.jpgIMG_3229 3.jpg


Written by
@d-pend
10/2/18
.
Photos by
@d-pend

.
(taken with
iPhone 8+)


IMG_3229 4.jpgsilvtonestump.jpg


vinecreeping.jpg


sepia2.jpgIMG_3257 4.jpg


Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Thank you @d-pend,

This was delight to read the beauty of nature and rings that make me smile year after year. Life is a blessing and a joy. Even some of those mushrooms are out of sight. Although poison they are the objects of a child's fantasy.

Hey @mineopoly, good to hear from you! Yeah my parents and I went on a spectacular hike yesterday. Thankfully my mom has this newer iPhone so I could catch some nice quality shots. Life continually amazes and surprises me with the twists it brings. It's enough to make you speechless, yet so moved you feel you must speak!

@d-pend,

I'm getting no image-downloads ... sometimes I really hate steemitimages ... so I've had to envision what I'm looking at on your poems (the others weren't downloading either). Perhaps that forces one to think more deeply ... silver lining?

Anyway, great job. As always, I love the Verse. Pattern equals dopamine and dopamine packs a punch.

I read the poem about a half-dozen times. You wrote some great lines:

the pantomime of mildness

Undergird, a revelry:
in leafblade shadow-puppetry.

Out the human archetype
to pour from molten lips;
Sold-turmoil of symmetry,
base and rare eclipse.

Made comet-crowns and human-hands
and fungal feet to vie?

You got bloody lucky on ... "vie." :-)

I had to google frim. :-)

Quill

Beautiful photographs. Every living being fights in nature to survive. Examples are the small plants that are sheltered by large trees.

Every living being fights in nature to survive.

There is this continuous aspiration of lifeforms to persist despite the odds. And, when I thought of the word happy in this context, I thought of the meaning "fortuitous." That this survival contest is less rapacious than vibrant and ever-changing. It all depends on our perspective.

Dear @d-pend sir!
Always your poetry comes with A happy contest. To see only the understanding of it, we must have the eyes of the inner mind, which we call the soul or the feeling. Your passions are clearly seen in these poems. Your poems and you are motivating me to follow the right direction. I am unable to encompass this feeling in words. I feel very lucky to have friends and guides like you.
Regards sir.

Regards my friend. You are right that to see the heart of poetry requires vision of the soul. It looks past every artifice and discerns the core directly, experientially. To feel any art truly is a form of gnosis that transcends cognition. In fact, the beholding of art at deeper levels changes cognitive patterns in the wake of the epiphanic shockwaves it transmits.

I liked the last sentence: "... and fungal feet to vie?"
A question. I see some resemblance (in style) with Nostradamus' quatrains. Is this a coincidence?

I liked the last sentence: "... and fungal feet to vie?"

Thank goodness the word "vie" exists. There wasn't any other appropriate one syllable word with that vowel sound :-D Had to pause and puzzle over that last line for a while.

A question. I see some resemblance (in style) with Nostradamus' quatrains. Is this a coincidence?

I don't believe I've read any of Nostradamus' poetry. In fact, I wasn't aware he was a poet. This co-incidence may be a synchronous isness-ity!

Example of Nostradamus' quatrain:
Century II Quatrain 1

French:
Vers Aquitaine par insuls Britaniques
Et par eux mesmes grandes incursions
Pluyes, gelees feront terroirs iniques
Port Selyn fortes fera inuasions.

English:
Towards Aquitaine by the British Isles
By these themselves great incursions.
Rains, frosts will make the soil uneven,
Port Selyn will make mighty invasions

Last verse reminds me one of my own poems, actually. And "vie" is such an interesting, crisp word. Upvoted.

I do think our poetic sensibilities overlap. And like I said to another commenter, thank goodness the word "vie" exists. Nothing else fit there, at all!

Yes, they do. There is something in the notion of certain words being fit. Like puzzle, like basic elements, flesh, whatever. I think you know what i mean.

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you kindly Botty. :-D

sir, all the pictures taken from iPhone 8+ are super duper hits.And as always, your original poems are spectacular and wonderful.And you have given this title you have a Happy Contest, it's great

Thanks @vickykarma, yeah I can't believe the quality on the 8+. I was borrowing my mom's phone to take these pictures on our hike at Linville Falls. Glad you liked the poetry as well!

Dear @d-pend sir!
Your mom surely will be so kind hearted who barrow you this iPhone..now your kind mom also involved in your phenomenal photography and poetry , because you give such beautiful appearance to your photography by your mom's iPhone.
Regards sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02