The Shadows - 3rd place award winning poem I wrote in 2008

in #poetry7 years ago
This poem won 3rd place in a Canada-wide poetry contest and it ended up getting published in a poem compilation book which I have long forgotten the name of. I wrote this in Grade 10, the year was around 2008. I have kept it exactly the way it was written when I first submitted to the initial contest.
Boost my potential with your upvotes and comments and I will share the wealth. Please follow me @cryptocreme if you haven't already! :)

shadow.jpg

I rendered the image above using Maya 2007, some of my earlier 3d work.
  • The Shadows
    By Lucas Penner

The darkness is sneaking,
from under the trees.
Looking for victims,
to throw to their knees.

It feeds on the light,
but hungers for more.
It stalks every person
who touches the floor.

The light will not last,
for the night will arise.
For during the day,
it cannot disguise.

We are unable to attack,
Our disfigured clones.
They lay on the ground,
unattended, very alone.

Maybe the darkness,
is really our friend?
Keeping us company,
from beginning to end.

Darkness is joy and hate.
summed into one.
But why does it follow us?
What have we done?

- If you enjoy content, every upvote is appreciated!

- follow me @cryptocreme for more intellectually juicy morsels of original content

Sort:  

The imageries are superlative i enjoyed every bit of the metaphors too, lovely poem, and a nice post too

Your write up is impressive. Followed @cryptocreme

Appreciate the support!

awesome

Thank you for sharing your experiences with getting up and running. Keep on working at it. Perseverance and hard work are the keys to success. @cryptocreme

This comment has received a -16.67 % downvote from @meanpeoplesuck thanks to: @blacklist-a.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04