Like a Butterfly on a Flower

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

butterfly-743549_1280.jpg


A fragile leaf swept by the wind
Into the cup of my hands,
Bringing the scent of the forest
To the edge of my breath.

I cherish the veins and living green
That suffuses your visage.
I want to make you a Garland
To drape on my neck,
Or a laurel on my head
Because you bring greatness to my heart.

I want you to be a rose or
A lily in my lapel because you bring romance to my heart.
I want you to be forgetmenots and touchmenots because
I can't seem to forget or touch you.

You fill my heart with
The scent of rivers and rocks,
Grass and wet mud.
You are a mosaic of beautiful life
And I want to trace that beauty
From your lips to your tippy toes.


image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84