Ferry Across the Mersey {An original poem}

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Washington Barracks 24 inch searchlights, 1918 HD-SN-99-02235

Image

Ferry Across the Mersey


MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY AN ADULT
 
read the sign of despair
ignored by our pre-pubescent leader.
He casually bought candy.
 
He searched
intently
like 1 billion candles scouring the ground for an escaped prisoner
while we gazed after
with furrowed brows and slack jaws
a gawp of Olivers and a Dodger.
 
Follow me! And don’t say anything!
 
We scampered after
bewildered
intrigued
as he sat down next to a darling little
wool coated
cotton puffed
old dear
and pulled out his crumpled
white
paper bag of humbugs.
 
We marvelled as he chatted away
like he’d known this slender nan his entire life
and our hair danced
wild
in the Atlantic breeze.

Sort:  

Good to see you posting again. I enjoyed the poem, but now I can't get Jerry and the Pacemakers, Ferry Across the Mersey, out of my head.

Thanks, I had a creative hiatus. I liked your latest one too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78